FLASHBACK: Gibbet Cages

Started by Yoshida Keiji, November 23, 2018, 07:07:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yoshida Keiji

I started playing RimWorld from Alpha 16, so there's a lot of RW-History that I'm not aware of. Because v1.0 is a very messed up version, I was about to return to A-17 which is the last Alpha that felt decent in my opinion, and to my surprise I saw that Alpha 4 was available so I downloaded that one and I'm giving it a play through in occasions as I prefer to play other games until RW stands up from its header fall.

I just finished researching "Fear Tech 1" and found out this awesome "Gibbet Cage" and I felt so perplexed to realize this was removed from the game that I had to come here to ask old time veterans... which Alpha removed this "decoration".... and exactly WHY? WHY? WHY? As a Lost Tribe & Vanilla exclusive player I supported many suggestions of this nature such as city wall entrance gate pikes where you could insert decapitated heads of enemies and this Gibbet Cage used to exist already in the past...

Since my start in Alpha 16, I never read any comments in this forum about players asking Gibbet Cages "return" in all this time. So... any players still active today that used to play RimWorld from around Alpha 4?

Shinzy

I started during the alpha 4 and the whole fear/loyalty mechanic was just bonkers
all you needed was to give each of your colonist a nice corpse plushie friend to fall safely asleep with and you win their complete total fear based loyalty

gibbet cages were mostly just bit of decor they didn't deserve to have

the current mood system doesn't really support having corpse pillows
It's a real shame I knooooww uugh

Scavenger

"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde

BasileusMaximos

Well, there is a mod that lets you take corpses and make them into buildings that give mood debuffs to anyone who see them.