Am I missing something with roofing?

Started by discogeek, August 30, 2016, 08:54:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

discogeek

So I have a structure I built a few seasons back... all the walls and doors and wires and floors were put into place.  I've got the place marked as a roofed zone.  But my colonists have constantly ignored putting in the roof, even going to their lower priority tasks below construction (e.g., cooking or hauling) leaving the roof off the building. 

It's right between their bedrooms and the dining room, so they're constantly walking past it.

Is there something I'm not getting with them building roofs?  I'm aware of the "build roof area" zone and use it.  Sort of feels most of the time I have to place them manually.  Once in a while I'll see people doing it automatically.  This one structure in particular has been sitting unroofed for roughly two seasons now.

BeastNips

I'm pretty new to the game and someone will probably reply soon with a better answer, but here goes!
Is there a chance the potentially roofed area is too far from a supporting wall, meaning they avoid building it because it would collapse? If so, try placing some pillars of wall to support it.

One thing I've also done by accident is used the home tool thinking I'm using the roofing tool, worth double checking!

Serenity

Can happen. The AI isn't the best and general construction jobs have a higher priority than roofing. It's one reason why I want a tool to prioritize all work in an entire area.

You can try to manually order a pawn to roof one tile and then lock them in the room.

BlackSmokeDMax

How big is the room? Roof sections can not be more than 6 tiles from the nearest support. Effectively, the biggest roof you can make is 12 x however long you want, without supports in the middle.

Serenity

This happens with smaller areas too. They just prefer to do something else and never get back to the roof. Or they do some tiles and then walk off again.

BlackSmokeDMax