Gay man just woo'd gay woman?

Started by dkmoo, January 28, 2017, 11:55:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dkmoo

Hi. I didn't really find any posts for this so thought i'd ask. I'm relatively new to the game but I thought this wasn't supposed to happen based on what people have posted about the '"gay" trait (mainly, will never find the opposite sex attractive)?

So i had Kepler (gay male) and Onesan (gay female) in my startup colony. They had about 70-80 opinions of each other and I just saw Kepler trying (and unsuccessfully) woo Onesan. I thought their gay traits should make the wooing initiation impossible? Is the game's internal gender logic simply flipping the pawn's gender with the gay traits so that Kepler's seeing Onesan as a guy? But if that's the case I should also be seeing straight male trying to hit on a gay male but I never saw that.. Or is what i'm seeing just a bug of a much more complex gender/wooing/relationship logic?

I'll be keeping a close eye on them to see if they eventually become lovers...
Thanks

milon

AFAIK, it doesn't make it impossible - just strongly influences their preferences. If conditions are right, any pawn can woo (or be wooed by) another pawn that's not their preferred gender.

Zhentar

Some pawns, whether or not they have the gay trait, are actually bisexual and may attempt to romance pawn of either gender.

DanielCoffey

Here is an analysis of the code around relationships in the game... https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2016/11/02/rimworld-code-analysis/

It is actually a nice read too.

EDIT : Apparently it thinks that (A15 at the time the article was written) gay pawns never find *any* female pawns attractive.
Caselabs S8 : Intel 7700K 5.0GHz 1.30V / 32Gb DDR4 3000 / ASUS 780 Ti 3Gb 1274 boost, 7800 mem / Samsung 850 Pro 256Gb, 2x Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb / Dell U2715H 27" 2560x1440 / Corsair AX860I / APC SMT1000I / Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit

MaximStale

Hans Lemurson