Modifying basic needs

Started by phr43k, January 16, 2018, 10:52:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

phr43k

Hi all,

I'm totally new to modding RimWorld, so I don't have complete overview over what is possible and how. I have general programming knowledge, but am not familiar with the intricacies of C#.

I wanted to fiddle with the needs of pawns and have hit a wall. Looking at the source code, needs are stored in a Pawn_NeedsTracker. Adding new needs is easily done via causesNeed in HeDiffDef, but changing or disabling the base needs seems way more difficult.

For testing purposes I tried to remove the need to eat. As Pawn_NeedsTracker explicitly stores a Need_Food object, I created a child class, inheriting from Need_Food, overrode the functionality, and put it there via XML in a HeDiffDef:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<Defs>
<HediffDef Name="ImplantHediffBase" Abstract="True">
    <hediffClass>Hediff_Implant</hediffClass>
    <defaultLabelColor>(0.65, 0.3, 0.9)</defaultLabelColor>
    <isBad>false</isBad>
  </HediffDef>

<HediffDef ParentName="ImplantHediffBase">
    <defName>KyberneticInterface</defName>
    <label>kybernetic interface</label>
    <labelNoun>a kybernetic interface</labelNoun>
    <spawnThingOnRemoved>KyberneticInterface</spawnThingOnRemoved>
    <concreteExampleInt>
    <pawn>
    <needs>
    <food>
    <Need_Food_Kybernetic class="Kybernetics.Need_Food_Kybernetics"/>
    </food>
    </needs>
    </pawn>
    </concreteExampleInt>
  </HediffDef>
</Defs>

(I'm not even sure that this works like I want it to.)

But it looks like the source code calls the default constructor of Need_Food, so you get an error if you use a child class of that.

Is there something I can do to make it work this way or do I have to use a different approach?

BrokenValkyrie