Modded Research not showing up in research panel

Started by Zapp Brannigan, May 02, 2015, 04:07:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zapp Brannigan

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to modding but it seems pretty straight forward and logical (most of the time). I have been playing around with skully's OmniWeapons mod and wanted to add the ability to craft his weapons.

My first step was to create the ability to research the weapons and would add the ability to craft them later. I followed the format used by many of the other mods I have installed (basically used them to reverse engineer research.xml format) and added the weapons and prerequisites I wanted each "tier" to have.

I placed the new Research_Weapons_Ballistic.xml file that I typed out into RimWorld785Win/Mods/OmniWeapons/Defs/ResearchProjectsDefs However when I start a new test colony and click on the research tab, the first research item is not listed.

Is there another file I need to add? Or is my code simply wrong? Here is a link to the .xml file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/055e8p5d4dasvn9/Research_Weapons_Ballistic.xml?dl=0

BBream

I think it need to be deleted line
        <prerequisites></prerequisites>
Other research that not has prerequisites don't have this line.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<ResearchProjectDefs>

<ResearchProjectDef>
        <defName>Research_Weapons_Ballistic_Basic</defName>
        <label>Basic Ballistic Weaponry</label>
        <description>Teaches your colonists how to use basic machining techniques for ballistic weaponry.</description>
        <totalCost>1000</totalCost>
    </ResearchProjectDef>

Zapp Brannigan

Quote from: BBream on May 02, 2015, 09:49:28 AM
I think it need to be deleted line
        <prerequisites></prerequisites>
Other research that not has prerequisites don't have this line.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<ResearchProjectDefs>

<ResearchProjectDef>
        <defName>Research_Weapons_Ballistic_Basic</defName>