The Logistics of TV Broadcasting on Rimworlds

Started by Jake, February 11, 2017, 09:24:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jake

Some of you might've seen a discussion post about this on the Rimworld subreddit a while ago, started by me, and one of the things that came up in the comments was that being able to watch TV at all was stretching credibility.

Well, you'd be surprised. I'm currently studying for my amateur radio operator's license, and one of the most surprising things I've learned so far is just how powerful this stuff can be. The most powerful transmitter an amateur is allowed to use here in the UK is one hundred watts, which doesn't sound like a lot but is more than enough for a legible two-way voice link with someone on the other side of the Atlantic. And it's entirely possible to build one of these out of salvaged parts with only basic tools; in fact, compared to stuff your colonists can whip up like the multi-analyser and the vitals monitor it's kind of tame.

Now, while that might be okay for radio, a TV picture is much harder to transmit a useful distance even when unburdened by legal restrictions on frequency and power. That's where repeater networks come in. They're pretty much what they sound like: You link up with them, send your message and they retransmit it. Some of them just have a bigger and better antenna than most hams can set up at home, while more sophisticated ones actually use the Internet to link you directly to another repeater in range of the callsign you're trying to reach. You probably wouldn't be able to do the latter on a rimworld, although it's not inconceivable that parts of a planetary telecoms network set up by the first colonists would still be in working order; there might even be a few working communications satellites in orbit.