Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: ItchyFlea on January 27, 2014, 05:26:26 PM

Title: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on January 27, 2014, 05:26:26 PM
ItchyFlea's Mod V1.2
This mod is for RimWorld Alpha 0.1.334

Changes/Additions:

Changes:
� All flooring types cost 1 metal.

Additions:
� King Size Bed. - Gives improved rest.
� New flooring type, Dirt. - Can be used for farming.
� Targets. - Build these to train up your colonists shooting skill. These require 20 uranium to build which can be acquired from traders. This new item is found under the Security tab. It is indestructible.
How to use: Draft a colonist then press the 'F' key and click on the target. If they are within range, they will start shooting the target.

New in this version:
� Recyclable Corpses. - Turn corpses (Squirrel, Boomrat, Prisoner, etc.) into 3 potatoes. Everything seems to live off potatoes, and you are what you eat, so...  :-\
How to use: Build a blasting charge and the build several of the RecycleCorpse (1 corpse per structure) structure around it, the maximum is 44. Once you are done building, move your people away and detonate the charge. Boom! Fresh Potatoes.

Install Instructions:
1) Make a backup copy of your RimWorld\Mods folder.
2) Go into the mods folder and delete the folder in there named 'Core'
3) Unzip this file and place in the mods folder.

Uninstall Instructions:
1) Replace the Rimworld\Mods folder with the backup copy.

Download Link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/y4eyy5a8moii5c2/ItchyFleas%20Mod%20v1.2.7z

WARNING: Worlds created with this mod installed will not work in an unmodded RimWorld version.

Known Bugs:
• RecyclableCorpses create an invisible corpse when deconstructed, along with a more complex bug that will break colonists.
Solution: Never deconstruct a RecyclableCorpse.
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: Plasmatic on January 27, 2014, 06:19:07 PM
Might just be me, but my colonists don't seem to build the bed, they just put down the metal for it, but dont actually construct it.

EDIT: Strange.. tried it again, and now it was constructed fine.... maybe I did something wrong the first time..

EDIT 2: Would it be possible to make the colonists sleep in the center of the bed? or is that not possible without major modifications? Seems like a waste to only sleep on a single side of the bed when you have a king size bed :P
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: ItchyFlea on January 27, 2014, 08:46:52 PM
I can't find a way to make them sleep in the center of it as this stage. I suspect that that part of beds is hardcoded at the moment.
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: Plasmatic on January 27, 2014, 09:23:05 PM
I can't find a way to make them sleep in the center of it as this stage. I suspect that that part of beds is hardcoded at the moment.

Would it be possible to make it a double bed? as in 2 colonists sleep in it? I assume not :)
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: RimLover on January 28, 2014, 12:57:39 PM
Can i start a request here ?!

if yes, i would like to have x5 population and many geysers.

otherwise i love u anyway ;) ! Keep modding
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: Plasmatic on January 28, 2014, 02:01:35 PM
Can i start a request here ?!

if yes, i would like to have x5 population and many geysers.

otherwise i love u anyway ;) ! Keep modding

Just play on Randy Random (hes not hard at all) and use dev mode so you can set unlimited power.. no need for a mod to do this anymore..
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: Untrustedlife on January 28, 2014, 08:36:40 PM
I can't find a way to make them sleep in the center of it as this stage. I suspect that that part of beds is hardcoded at the moment.

Would it be possible to make it a double bed? as in 2 colonists sleep in it? I assume not :)
Its not possible, I have my own "Royal Bed" that I made ..(does  the same exact thing -_- heals em 25% faster and is 2x2,costs alot, but it cannot change how they perceive there room)  There are no tags that can change the amount of colonists per bed at this moment.

Itchy, you have any idea what the tags are for how much they improve the room they are in.. the only one i could find was "Neutral"

edit:
I looked through the xml files and found a few more.

Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: ItchyFlea on January 28, 2014, 09:47:33 PM
Itchy, you have any idea what the tags are for how much they improve the room they are in.. the only one i could find was "Neutral"
edit:
I looked through the xml files and found a few more.
I found these ones when making this mod:
NiceTiny
UglyTiny
Neutral
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (new item, changed costs)
Post by: Untrustedlife on January 28, 2014, 09:48:12 PM
Yea I saw those.
(as you can see i edited my post) perhaps tynan will enlighten us on the rest.
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on January 29, 2014, 11:28:32 PM
A new version has been released. (V1.1)

The new version adds targets to the game, so you can train your colonists shooting skill. They use the pawn head graphic so they look a little odd. They cost 20 Uranium to build, which can be acquired via trading. You can find them in the Security tab.

Using them is quite easy. First you draft a colonist and bring him/her somewhere near the target. Once in position, push the 'F' key on your keyboard and then click on the target. If the target is within range of their weapon, they will start attacking it.
It is indestructible, so you won't have to worry about rebuilding it after use.

Example of a shooting range:
(http://i.imgur.com/Viu1Q3G.png)
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: Plasmatic on January 30, 2014, 01:18:19 PM
I only have 1 word to say:

Epic!

Keep bringing out these great ideas!
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: Tynan on January 30, 2014, 01:30:22 PM
Glad to see I'm getting some target practice :D
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: palandus on January 30, 2014, 05:35:03 PM
You can find the "beautytypes" by datamining the compiled dll with .NET Reflector. They are for reference:

    Horrifying,
    Hideous,
    Ugly,
    UglyTiny,
    Neutral,
    NiceTiny,
    Nice,
    Gorgeous,
    Enchanting

Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on January 30, 2014, 06:48:59 PM
Those are much appreciated.  ;D
I already have a use in mind for Horrifying.  :-X

If I can ask a favour, are you able to find and post the texturepaths for all the in-game textures? I haven't got a clue on how to datamine and have been literally stabbing in the dark trying to guess what they are.
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: Untrustedlife on January 30, 2014, 09:24:27 PM
You can find the "beautytypes" by datamining the compiled dll with .NET Reflector. They are for reference:

    Horrifying,
    Hideous,
    Ugly,
    UglyTiny,
    Neutral,
    NiceTiny,
    Nice,
    Gorgeous,
    Enchanting
Thank you for those I could really really use them.
I have a great idea now....

Also, nice update itchy, i'm still hammering away at my toxic world conversion when I have time :P
damn school getting in my modding-way.
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on February 03, 2014, 04:23:24 AM
A new version has been released. (v1.2)

This version introduces Recyclable Corpses.
It is a structure that is designed to be destroyed, and when destroyed it leaves behind 3 potatoes.

It will accept any kind of corpse. Squirrel, Boomrat, Prisoner, etc.

How to use:
First build a blasting charge. Then, surrounding that, build the new item RecycleCorpse (Found in the Security Tab). It will accept any type of corpse as the material. Squirrel, Boomrat, Prisoner, etc. You can build up to 44 of these in the blast radius of the charge.
Once you are done building, or have built the number you require, detonate the charge. Boom! Fresh Potatoes.

The thinking is that everything seems to live off potatoes, and you are what you eat......

(http://i.imgur.com/5JAwDch.png)

This was inspired by Tynan (http://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=1619.msg16337#msg16337)
I placed it in the security tab because I couldn't think of anywhere else to put it.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: Jones-250 on February 05, 2014, 07:07:27 PM
SOYLENT GREEN IS... no wait...
(http://www.fatwallet.com/static/attachments/271225_ch.jpg)
Potatoes are people!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: Ender on February 07, 2014, 05:45:45 PM
SOYLENT GREEN IS... no wait...
(http://www.fatwallet.com/static/attachments/271225_ch.jpg)
Potatoes are people!
damn! you beat me to it!
Title: Re: (0.1.334) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Targets for Target Practice!)
Post by: Ender on February 07, 2014, 05:49:07 PM
Also, nice update itchy, i'm still hammering away at my toxic world conversion when I have time :P
damn school getting in my modding-way.
Sooooo by toxic world i dont suppose it might be something of the sort in the old "eclipse colony" where we need air, or am i getting to excited? Please! do tell!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: Untrustedlife on February 10, 2014, 12:52:42 AM
It is stated in the back stories of some colonists that some come from "Toxic Worlds" where toxic slime covers the surface and you are unable to survive outside.And live in compounds built into the ground.

I am making a total conversion for this.
(I have however stopped working on it for the moment , school has taken over my life, but i can assure you it is going swimmingly)

Current Features:
I have it set up that you cannot farm outside (but you can farm inside, and build "dirt plots" inside), and being outside gives a constant  debuff, and slime now replaces sand, which is almost impossible for colonists to walk through, (but they can very slowly, and they get an even bigger debuff from being in the slime , and colonists will either not go across slime, or path around it (apparently due to how the <PathCost> tag works.

Once I reskin the slime I will go ahead and release it.
(I don't have the time however, expect it within a few days)
The toxic slime and survival aspects work perfectly.  ;) (within the limits of the current alpha of course)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: Ender on February 10, 2014, 05:40:37 PM
so how well do raiders path around or through slime then? seeing as if what i gathered is correct raiders do path differently than colonists.
Title: driverReport Error
Post by: letharion on February 18, 2014, 02:41:54 PM
When I'm running with this mod, after about an hour or so, my AI malfunctions by doing nothing, as their current activity I get a "driverReport error".

Of course, I don't know that the mod itself is the cause, but I started a new game without the mod, and then I don't get it, so I figured I'd paste it here.

Awesome mod though. :D

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on February 18, 2014, 03:22:12 PM
Odd. Could you post the saved game with that bugged colonist?
Zip the save up and it should be small enough to post here on the forums. If it's still too large, upload it to mediafire (or somewhere similar) and post the download link here.
Saves are located here:

� Windows: Users\[Current user name]\AppData\LocalLow\Ludeon Studios\RimWorld\
� Mac: /Users/[Current user name]/Library/Caches/unity.Ludeon Studios.RimWorld/
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: letharion on February 18, 2014, 06:36:40 PM
Here's the save, zipped. It appears to happen whenever a colonist decides to either construct, or haul, something. Colonists "snap out of it", if those tasks are unassigned. Though I don't think there's anything mod-related being built at the moment, and the problem persists even if I cancel all pending construction.

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: ItchyFlea on February 18, 2014, 10:52:53 PM
Wow that was fun to figure out. I've fixed the save and attached it to this post for you.

Found the exact cause, and have noted it in the OP.
Thanks for reporting this.  :)

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: letharion on February 19, 2014, 09:55:58 AM
That's awesome. :D

Can't have been entirely trivial to work out. :)

Since that turned out to be sort of related to the mod, I'm giving it a go again.

This time, there's two characters at the lower right end of the map. They're just standing still, doing nothing at all. If one clicks on them, one looses the entire UI. Nothing else is clickable, the colonists can't be deselected, and the only escape is to kill the application.

Unlike the previous issue, I haven't been able to find a way to make them snap out of it.

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: Ender on February 19, 2014, 07:32:27 PM
That's awesome. :D

Can't have been entirely trivial to work out. :)

Since that turned out to be sort of related to the mod, I'm giving it a go again.

This time, there's two characters at the lower right end of the map. They're just standing still, doing nothing at all. If one clicks on them, one looses the entire UI. Nothing else is clickable, the colonists can't be deselected, and the only escape is to kill the application.

Unlike the previous issue, I haven't been able to find a way to make them snap out of it.
I to have had issues with this before in a game, it was a colonist of mine, and did the exact same thing, complete loss of UI and the only way to end it was to kill the program. though unfortunately i cant find the save file :P (this game i speak of was un-modded)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 1) ItchyFlea's Mod (Now with Recyclable Corpses!)
Post by: letharion on February 20, 2014, 01:45:55 AM
I to have had issues with this before in a game, it was a colonist of mine, and did the exact same thing, complete loss of UI and the only way to end it was to kill the program. though unfortunately i cant find the save file :P (this game i speak of was un-modded)

Since you said it happened unmodded, I looked throught the normal bugs, and mantis. Turns out this is already a known issue:
http://ludeon.com/mantis/view.php?id=341