Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: lincore on September 06, 2016, 02:56:05 PM

Title: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 06, 2016, 02:56:05 PM
(http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/481145638032612814/92E807F814678B0D9853685554499B36C6A49F0B/)
Beaver genocide, done right!


This small mod adds a new tab to Rimworld, containing a list of all wild animals on the map:


(http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/481145638035638249/DA9468F292D92A4EBFB3021500BB62090F2ADD1C/)
Clicking on the eye jumps to the corresponding animal without closing the tab, I thought that might be useful.
The other icons indicate whether an animal is either a manhunter or belongs to an insectoid infestation.


The mod does not mess with any serialized data, so using it in your existing colony should* be fine. If you encounter any problems, please let me know. Feature requests are also welcome.

Download:


License/Contact:

Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes:

2017/05/25:
2016/12/21:
2016/10/16:
2016/09/09:
2016/09/07:
[/list]
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: BaconBits on September 06, 2016, 03:36:48 PM
Nice! So it's like Numbers and Fluffy's Animal Tab combined?
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 06, 2016, 04:31:31 PM
Nice! So it's like Numbers and Fluffy's Animal Tab combined?
I don't know, I tried neither of them.
I just wanted a simple mod that does one thing well, and that is: find beavers and other pests :~)
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Statistical_Insanity on September 06, 2016, 05:49:25 PM
Could you add an option to show meat and leather amount?
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: BaconBits on September 06, 2016, 06:01:58 PM
Well, after a quick test, I found that this is similar to Numbers in the way you have a list of all the wild animals in the maps. However, yours adds features like the Animal Tab. Well Done, I like it. BTW, It is compatible With Numbers and Fluffy's Animal Tab so far.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lorebot on September 06, 2016, 06:20:45 PM
My only concern with this mod is similar to my concern about Fluffy's Colony Manager in that it accounts for animals that aren't in explored areas of the map. So if there are bugs in a hidden room somewhere with some megascarabs in it the tab will tell you that they're on the map somewhere.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: MisterVertigo on September 06, 2016, 06:30:25 PM
I'm going to try this out. I like Fluffy's mods, but I like how this one gives you a button that you can click on to hunt animals. Thank you!
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Deimos Rast on September 06, 2016, 07:38:52 PM
Very nice.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: ChaosKittee on September 07, 2016, 12:38:37 AM
I really like this mod and the way you can hunt and tame with it. Thank you!
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: oreganor on September 07, 2016, 03:36:09 AM
Woah! Very nice mod, incredibly usefull. A few features for the future if you are planning into keep updating/improving it:

- Would rock to have each type of animal group ordered by distance to a certain spot (┬┐Option maybe?). I thought that most colonies have a party spot selected that's usually around the "center" of the colony, so it would be very usefull on big maps to have an idea of how far a Hunter/Tamer should have to travel to do his/her job in a glance. To prevent resource wasting this "distance" should only be calculated once per tab opening... After all is just a particular suborder into each animal group just to have an easy evaluations like "the top Muffalo is the closest... The bottom Grizzly is the farthest".
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 07, 2016, 04:53:20 AM
Thank you all for your feedback and suggestions!

Could you add an option to show meat and leather amount?
If I'm not mistaken the amount of resources gathered from butchering is the same for all animals of a given species, I think the formula is: more bigger -> more resources. For this reason it seems a bit redundant to me to repeat this data over and over again. How about a compromise in form of an info button that opens an animal's stats window (where this and other data can be looked up)?

(snip)Would rock to have each type of animal group ordered by distance to a certain spot (┬┐Option maybe?). (snip)
I have thought about that, too. While certainly possible I wonder how useful this would actually be on maps that aren't huge (and even then it often takes longer to actually hit the animal than hauling it back home :~). Calculating distances to your base for a few dozen pawns does not sound super demanding as you only need to do it every few seconds. I will certainly play around with your idea to see if it is viable. I also plan to add sorting/filtering/grouping options in the future, or at least try them out and see what is really necessary and what is only fluff (no pun intended ;~).
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 07, 2016, 05:40:08 AM
My only concern with this mod is similar to my concern about Fluffy's Colony Manager in that it accounts for animals that aren't in explored areas of the map. So if there are bugs in a hidden room somewhere with some megascarabs in it the tab will tell you that they're on the map somewhere.
Thank you for letting me know. I will fix that asap.

EDIT: Fixed.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Kindyj on September 07, 2016, 06:59:03 AM
Simple and Beautiful, this will become extremely useful given the ability to sort and group. I will download first thing tonight.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: drakulux on September 07, 2016, 09:10:54 AM
Is it possible to make the panel only assessible after research or by building and using a "radar"  station? Or is this just makingit too complex?
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 07, 2016, 12:48:24 PM
Is it possible to make the panel only assessible after research or by building and using a "radar"  station? Or is this just makingit too complex?
It certainly is possible. I have thought about this as well, my idea was to add a deerstand hunters would have to occasionally visit or something like that. I decided not to implement that, though. I think this mod provides an essential function so I don't plan to gate it behind gameplay requirements, sorry.
Of course you are free to re-release an alternate version that adds a radar or research requirement, I'm sure a lot of people would like that.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: LadyAth on September 07, 2016, 04:24:59 PM
Thank you for this mod  \0/

Saves me scrolling around insanely huge maps (cause I love those) to look for specific pelts to hunt for.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: MisterVertigo on September 07, 2016, 04:48:29 PM
I played with this mod last night, and it has quickly become one of my favorites and a must-have! Well done!

I do have one request though. How difficult would it be to add a column that will show whether or not an animal is a predator or not? It would be nice to be able to open this up before sending colonists far out on the map to haul something to know if there are any predators around that may be hungry. It would also be nice to know what's out there so I can organize a hunting party if they become too numerous. If we are talking about that the animal's hunger meter would be great too, but that may be too much.

Thank you again!
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: tommiethegun on September 08, 2016, 03:58:55 AM
I second the request for showing an animal's predator status. Once this is fixed to not show animals in hidden map areas (I need the surprise!), this'll be a staple in my mod list :)
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: harpo99999 on September 08, 2016, 07:27:19 AM
I would like tynan to adopt this mod into the base game as it feels exactly a base game feature that is NEEDED and did not have.
thank you for creating this mod
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Shinzy on September 08, 2016, 07:40:06 AM
I really like this mod and the way you can hunt and tame with it. Thank you!

I just wanted to repeat what this one said! ;D
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 08, 2016, 12:21:31 PM
Again, thanks for all your feedback and suggestions. it's good to know I'm not the only one sick of playing Where's Waldo: Rimworld-Edition :~)

*snip* I do have one request though. How difficult would it be to add a column that will show whether or not an animal is a predator or not? *snip*
If we are talking about that the animal's hunger meter would be great too, but that may be too much. *snip*
I would rather not include information about a trait that is not specific to an individual creature, but is actually shared by all members of its species. You should know that bears are omnivores and all cats dig meat. If you don't know yet that's fine, too, because you will learn - limb by limb :~). I would not want to ruin anybodies chance of having fun by discovering the consequences of poorly informed decisions for themselves. However, I will add a warning in case you (unintentionally) command your colonists to hunt a predator, as the base game does.

Also I don't plan to add a hunger indicator. You can use the eye-button to quickly check out the surroundings of the animal you wish to hunt/tame etc. If you spot a panther, you'll have to decide whether the risk is worth the reward. I would not like to take that away from anybody. I only added the medical conditions columns because I thought it'd be fun to spot a tortoise with asthma without affecting the gameplay much. In general though, I believe that knowing everything makes everything boring.


I second the request for showing an animal's predator status. Once this is fixed to not show animals in hidden map areas (I need the surprise!), this'll be a staple in my mod list :)
#1: See above.
#2: I have fixed that already, versions on Steam and Github have also been updated (see initial post).
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 09, 2016, 12:39:49 PM
I updated the mod, all sources in the initial post have been adjusted.

Changes:

Hope you find that useful, have a nice weekend.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Kindyj on September 09, 2016, 01:55:05 PM
Is there a Way to.... Make it so I can Click one button and my colonists will hunt a species of animals, and when new ones spawn on the map, it auto designates it to be hunted. I love the mod because it Helps minimize Micromanagement, Making this change would even further help in that way.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 10, 2016, 08:25:42 AM
Is there a Way to.... Make it so I can Click one button and my colonists will hunt a species of animals, and when new ones spawn on the map, it auto designates it to be hunted. I love the mod because it Helps minimize Micromanagement, Making this change would even further help in that way.
No, sorry. I think auto-hunting goes beyond the scope of this mod. I wouldn't be surprised if fluffy's colony manager could do something like that, though.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Kiwih on September 10, 2016, 09:55:42 AM
LOOOOOOOVE this mod! Great work! :D
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: PaulPedron on September 20, 2016, 02:37:22 AM
Hello! This is going to be my first ever forum post and I would just like to say thanks a lot for this mod! As I see it, this mod helps so much in the management aspect of the game, though this can "remove" a TINY bit of the feel/immersion of "hunting" because with this, some players can get accustomed to just having their camera fixated at home and just click on some buttons and their pawns go hunting without them even seeing said animals, thus removing a part of the "hunt". Anyway that's just an opinion. I'm still using it now because I tend to play on huge extreme desert maps and it's proven to be a very convenient feature. Great vision and execution, so thank you and good luck with your future work!

Also, question:
When there are no visible wildlife currently in the map, the Wildlife UI goes under the tabs leaving it peaking and unpleasantly cropped. It's creepy. Is there a fix for this? *see below

(http://i66.tinypic.com/15ydf2t.png)
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on September 24, 2016, 07:31:59 AM
Hello! This is going to be my first ever forum post and I would just like to say thanks a lot for this mod! As I see it, this mod helps so much in the management aspect of the game, though this can "remove" a TINY bit of the feel/immersion of "hunting" because with this, some players can get accustomed to just having their camera fixated at home and just click on some buttons and their pawns go hunting without them even seeing said animals, thus removing a part of the "hunt". Anyway that's just an opinion. I'm still using it now because I tend to play on huge extreme desert maps and it's proven to be a very convenient feature. Great vision and execution, so thank you and good luck with your future work!
Glad you enjoy it. I share the opinion that experiencing the game primarily through lists and menus would be a shame. But I don't think that is a big problem with my mod. There's a decent chance that something bad happens eventually if you designate hunting an animal without looking at it first. It could be sitting in the middle of a boomrat pack :~)

When there are no visible wildlife currently in the map, the Wildlife UI goes under the tabs leaving it peaking and unpleasantly cropped. It's creepy. Is there a fix for this? *see below
Thanks for letting me know. It'll be fixed in the next release.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: masterpain on October 02, 2016, 06:01:51 AM
Would be nice to have an ALL button or a hunt all or tame all
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on October 16, 2016, 01:30:11 PM
Hi, here is a small update to fix the window size bug. Steam/Github releases have been updated.

@masterpain: Thanks for your feedback, I put it on my to-do list.
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: masterpain on November 01, 2016, 10:15:37 PM
Sweet
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: MisterVertigo on December 20, 2016, 09:28:04 PM
This is one of my favorite mods! I'm hoping to see it come back for A16!
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: ShawnB on December 21, 2016, 12:08:56 PM
I've just updated this to A16.  A release is here:
https://github.com/ShawnBuckley/RimworldMods/blob/master/Release/WildlifeTab_a0.16.zip
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: MisterVertigo on December 21, 2016, 01:42:46 PM
You are awesome! Thank you!
Title: Re: [A15] Wildlife Tab
Post by: etoire on December 22, 2016, 06:18:44 AM
I'm physically incapable of coping without this mod. I love you so much, dude! I love it! I love this mod! Man! I'm so unreasonably happy and excited about this!
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on December 23, 2016, 08:36:01 AM
Sorry for being late, Wildlife Tab is now available for a16 (thanks to ShawnB).
https://github.com/lincore81/RimworldMods/blob/master/Release/WildlifeTab_a0.16.zip (https://github.com/lincore81/RimworldMods/blob/master/Release/WildlifeTab_a0.16.zip)
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: neobikes on January 03, 2017, 07:55:25 AM
Hi, author Lincore,

I like this mod.
Was wondering, can you do the same mod like this one for trees and agave plants?
Reasoning:
When playing on Extreme Desert i am struggling getting minimal food and wood.
Non stop i search on map for agave and cactuses.
Having them listed would save my time so i can actually play and not constantly search map :(

Be aware, that such mod would be useless on other biomes or may slow down game to crash because amount of trees and plants would be in hundreds or more.
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Canute on January 03, 2017, 09:18:34 AM
Until he may create such a mod, you should try out the Colony manager (https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=16120.0).
You can set up bills for harvest food and chop trees mapwide or just a specify area.
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Canute on January 03, 2017, 03:23:02 PM
But you need to see the other side, on a tropical forest, there maybe would be a lag when you open these tab :-)
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Bodog999 on January 06, 2017, 10:35:54 PM
Love the mod, even though there have been no wild animals since the first season (Mountainous ice sheet, temp ranges from -60 to -130) but I especially love when there are no wild animals on my map that the tab says that if there were animals surviving here they'd be long gone.
Title: Re: [A16] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Coolcolon on May 03, 2017, 01:58:33 PM
I've got a bunch of mods I have basically just downloaded and this is the only one I cant get to work without an error (at least I think its this mod at least.)
anyone able to help me out, because running this game without this tab gets annoying.
1st pic has the error messages
2nd my list of mods in case its an incompatibility issue of sorts

[attachment deleted by admin due to age]
Title: Re: [A16|A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: lincore on May 24, 2017, 05:54:51 AM
Just a little bump to let you know that an early release for a17 is out. Enjoy.


unstable release: Alpha 17 (https://github.com/lincore81/RimworldMods/blob/alpha17/Release/WildlifeTab_a0.17_unstable.zip?raw=true)

PS: Sorry for not replying to your posts, I only visit the forum to post updates. I'll try to visit more often.


PPS:
I've got a bunch of mods I have basically just downloaded and this is the only one I cant get to work without an error (at least I think its this mod at least.)
anyone able to help me out, because running this game without this tab gets annoying.
1st pic has the error messages
2nd my list of mods in case its an incompatibility issue of sorts

Sorry for the late reply, Coolcolon. The error messages indicate my icons could not be loaded, but the reason is unclear. If you did not try it already, reinstalling the mod could help. If not and you use the version on the steam workshop, remove it and install the version on github (see first post).
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: asquirrel on June 21, 2017, 04:01:02 PM
Thanks dude for the A17 unstable release!  I'll use it.  How unstable is it?
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: wwWraith on June 21, 2017, 04:11:20 PM
Thanks dude for the A17 unstable release!  I'll use it.  How unstable is it?

I used it in several colonies with many other mods. Didn't make in-depth tests but there were no signs of unstability :)
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: tigg on August 07, 2017, 09:22:11 PM
Love this - so much easier than scouring the map for certain animals.
A16 version.
However ... I have a problem after adding some more mods to my already very long list (it was working perfectly with a lot before I added the extra). Now, it shows a lot of the wild animals as pregnant in the list but when I check the individual stats of the animal, they aren't. I'm wondering if there's a conflict with the animal tab mod which was one of the new ones I loaded. I think some of the other things it lists for the animals aren't always correct as well eg. sex, injuries.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: PGMP1979 on October 29, 2017, 09:00:28 PM
Crossing my fingers to see this soon in A18 unstable for proper testing.
Thank you so much for the mod, its a must have this days.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Lex Silvas on October 30, 2017, 07:39:55 PM
I have to say that this simple mod is by far the best i had in the game. Thanks mate!
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Kori on October 31, 2017, 12:39:41 AM
Very useful mod, could you just make the tab a bit smaller please, so it doesn't span half of the screen, hiding the animals you are selecting? The health column could be much shorter imo. :)
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: PGMP1979 on November 01, 2017, 05:34:36 PM
Thanks a million for your mod.
Im using it at A18 unstable, you can still see the animals in the map but you cannot set them to be hunted or anything.
At least you can spot them haha! Die bunnies !

Looking forward for the update thanks your all your work!  :D
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: MisterVertigo on November 19, 2017, 11:13:24 AM
Looking forward to a B18 update for this! Thank you for your work!
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Sinker on November 21, 2017, 11:00:31 AM
I have edited this mod. You can now mark animals for hunting/taming in B18.
Use this file at your own risk I am not a programmer and have never messed with C# until today. I will keep this file up until the official mod is updated or until @lincore tells me to remove it at which point it will be taken down.

The link for the updated mod is https://www.dropbox.com/s/lll83vkvvxmzq7s/OmniLocator.zip?dl=0

You copy the OmniLocator folder into your RimWorld/Mods folder.

I cannot play without this mod and look forward to an official update.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Theobod on November 22, 2017, 01:23:51 PM
Woo, thanks Sinker for the stopgap :)
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: SpaceDorf on November 22, 2017, 01:59:43 PM
Yup, Thank you very much.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: kubolek01 on November 24, 2017, 03:20:44 PM
Works great with AllowTool multiselect. 2 clicks to hunt whole species on map.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Golden on November 25, 2017, 07:05:31 AM
I don't know why, but Sinker's B18 version of this mod seems to throw errors for me.  I only use 7 mods and when I disabled this one everything worked with no problem.  :(  If I knew where to see the error log I would post it.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Canute on November 25, 2017, 09:14:12 AM
To see the error log ingame, you need to enable the dev mode at the options.
Then some button on top appear, with the left one you can open the error log window.
When you got hugslib mod installed you can upload the errorlog with a button there "share log" and post the link.

Or at the data folder you find output_log.txt you can attach to your posting, and if it is to big, you should use an archiver tool like winrar/zip to shrink it.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Bluntflame on December 04, 2017, 05:35:22 PM
when is this updating to B18?
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Canute on December 05, 2017, 03:14:27 AM
Bluntflame,
scroll abit up and you find a dropbox link.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Bluntflame on December 06, 2017, 03:45:01 PM
I have edited this mod. You can now mark animals for hunting/taming in B18.
Use this file at your own risk I am not a programmer and have never messed with C# until today. I will keep this file up until the official mod is updated or until @lincore tells me to remove it at which point it will be taken down.

The link for the updated mod is https://www.dropbox.com/s/lll83vkvvxmzq7s/OmniLocator.zip?dl=0

You copy the OmniLocator folder into your RimWorld/Mods folder.

I cannot play without this mod and look forward to an official update.

You are a really good modder. Do you think youcan update the pregnancy and children mod?
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: HanFox on December 18, 2017, 04:10:01 PM
I'm aware of Sinker's update of OmniLocator/Wildlife Tab, but it didn't let me use the tame/hunt checkboxes in the Tab due to an error.

I have released a fix for B18 (chiefly thanks to a PR on GitHub by tdbellgit):

Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1235553994
GitHub: https://github.com/HanFox/WildlifeTab/releases
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: TryB4Buy on December 24, 2017, 04:16:26 PM
Thanks HanFox. One small thing is that OmniLocator\Defs/WildlifeTab.xml: root element named MainButtonDefs; should be named Defs

Just change the first and last "MainButtonDefs" in that XML to "Defs". No more red error!
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Harry_Dicks on December 27, 2017, 09:01:32 AM
So is the version Han uploaded working properly, as long as I change the 2 lines in WildlifeTab.xml?

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<Defs>
  <MainButtonDef>
    <defName>Lincore_WildlifeTab</defName>
    <label>wildlife</label>
    <description>Find alpha beavers and other wildlife</description>
    <tabWindowClass>Lincore.WildlifeTab.MainTabWindow_Wildlife</tabWindowClass>
    <order>43</order>
  </MainButtonDef>
</Defs>

Change the 2 lines that say "MainButtonDef" to just "Defs" ? Thanks for the help! :)
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Mufflamingo on January 21, 2018, 02:21:45 AM
B18?
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Canute on January 21, 2018, 04:10:08 AM
No B18 version for people which are too lazy to read the last pages at last. :-)

Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: Mufflamingo on January 21, 2018, 09:34:35 AM
No B18 version for people which are too lazy to read the last pages at last. :-)



Oh nooooooooooooooooooooo. . . . . ..  .  :'(  :'(  :'(
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: BlackSmokeDMax on January 21, 2018, 06:59:01 PM
I'm using the unofficial version Sinker uploaded in reply #49 without any problems.
Title: Re: [A17] Wildlife Tab
Post by: wreckcelsior on November 10, 2018, 06:43:09 PM
Any plans for a 1.0 version?
Before anyone starts screamin' at me, I know that there is a Wildlife Tab in the vanilla, but it is missing (imo) some key features....
1. Manhunters or animals gone wild-mad don't always show up in the list as 'mad'.
2. There is no functioning "!" column to list the predators top to bottom.
3. "Medical conditions" is absent..
I know these are only 3 comments on the vanilla, but imo, they are major, as predators and manhunters are, really, the only animal threats on the map, and I need to protect my precious terriers. ;)

cheers.