Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => General Discussion => Topic started by: JamDunc on April 12, 2014, 01:29:18 AM

Title: Stonecutters Table - can anyone help?
Post by: JamDunc on April 12, 2014, 01:29:18 AM
Posting here instead of the bug forum as I'm not sure if it's a bug yet or just me being an idiot.

In my last two games (Alpha 3a, just downloading 3c) when I set a bill on my stonecutter table to always cut stone so there is 25 stone blocks (the new amount option added in Alpha 3) , no-one crafts, even though I have one colony member set to just crafting.

If I change it back to the old system and set the bill to just craft 25, whereupon the bill is completed and disappears, he drops everything and goes and crafts straight away.

Bug or idiot? :P
Title: Re: Stonecutters Table - can anyone help?
Post by: FangoWolf on April 14, 2014, 10:22:10 AM
Hit the "config" button for the bill and make sure there are stones in the range for the bill.
Title: Re: Stonecutters Table - can anyone help?
Post by: Tynan on April 14, 2014, 11:31:45 AM
And just to check - you don't already have 25 blocks do you?
Title: Re: Stonecutters Table - can anyone help?
Post by: Monkfish on April 14, 2014, 04:12:45 PM
And just to check - you don't already have 25 blocks do you?
This, I suspect, is the problem.

Also, on the subject of the default being 25, it might be better off at a higher number (500? 1000? Dunno) due to the numbers being used in construction. A single square uses 7 stone blocks, so that default 25 would only get you 3 stone wall pieces. A current colony I'm running had the limit at 1000, later upped to 1500 when I started putting more buildings down. This, I found, was a reasonable quantity to keep stockpiled.
Title: Re: Stonecutters Table - can anyone help?
Post by: Tynan on April 14, 2014, 04:15:18 PM
And just to check - you don't already have 25 blocks do you?
This, I suspect, is the problem.

Also, on the subject of the default being 25, it might be better off at a higher number (500? 1000? Dunno) due to the numbers being used in construction. A single square uses 7 stone blocks, so that default 25 would only get you 3 stone wall pieces. A current colony I'm running had the limit at 1000, later upped to 1500 when I started putting more buildings down. This, I found, was a reasonable quantity to keep stockpiled.

Well, the default is 10. And it applies for everything from meals to stone blocks.

I may, at some point, put in a variable default which can be set by modders and I for each recipe.