Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: JuliaEllie on October 06, 2014, 06:08:33 AM

Title: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 06, 2014, 06:08:33 AM
Hey guys,

I recently saw some mods overwriting Core Definitions to add Recipes. This can be "dangerous" for other mods and break them if they use Core data and should be avoided. So I wrote this small "mod"/tool.  You can integrate it into your own mod if you like (credit provided of course ;) ).



NEW RECIPE NURSE!!

UPDATE: Finally Alpha 8 is out - red debug messages removed btw :D



Hey listen - theres an UPDATE!

The new version of Recipe Nurse completely rules out the need to add medical recipes to the Human definition! You only have to define your RecipeDef as usual and the New Recipe Nurse will collect all medical recipes (for now recipes that use the <workSpeedStat>MedicalOperationSpeed</workSpeedStat> which should be used by all medical recipes anyways) and inject them to the Human definition. This should be easier to use and implement than the old Recipe Nurse. 




Technic stuff:
This mod creates a UnityGameObject through an ITab injection (thanks to EdB btw) which calls recipe injection on Start() - this is to make sure all Defs were loaded before the injection.
Feedback is very appreciated.


DOWNLOAD! (https://www.dropbox.com/s/nzkyxfcmilblw11/NewRecipeNurse.zip?dl=0)

FAQ - Fing Annoying Questions:



Q: I cant do any operations.
A: First of all - do you meet all requirements (medicine, part, pawnwith doctoring skill, etc)?? Try to restart the game and deactivate conflicting mods. I guarantee that NewRecipeNurse is perfectly working so the error source is either the user (usually), other mods (sometimes) or the core game (the restart issue/ALWAYS RESTART!).

Also I wont give support if you wont give a proper error log, description of the error, complete mod list and description of what you did before the error occured anymore. If I can not reproduce your "error" its not an error.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: Rikiki on October 06, 2014, 07:10:21 AM
This is a good idea for A7 mods inter-compatibility. :)

Tynan has already simplified this for A8 if I understand well the changelog of 29-09-2014.
"Modders can define recipes onto work tables in the recipe without overriding the work table. Use the list called <thingsToUseRecipe>".
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 06, 2014, 07:26:58 AM
wow it was about time for him to do this but I think Alpha 8 will take a few months to be out :D
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: Shinzy on October 06, 2014, 12:09:54 PM
Oh I don't have to wait for alpha 8 then for adding clothing recipes onto the vanilla tailoring table, then!

assuming I don't end up with my thumb in my nose with how to work this
imma try this out laterer

Oh you're the best, Jellie!, right after all the other people I've told the exact same thing (This list could very well include every person I've ever met, but it's still a compliment, okay?)
go fire up your game and hit G for that "Geeegeeeeeee!!!" You've deserved it
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 06, 2014, 02:05:51 PM
Quote from: Shinzy on October 06, 2014, 12:09:54 PM
Oh I don't have to wait for alpha 8 then for adding clothing recipes onto the vanilla tailoring table, then!

assuming I don't end up with my thumb in my nose with how to work this
imma try this out laterer

Oh you're the best, Jellie!, right after all the other people I've told the exact same thing (This list could very well include every person I've ever met, but it's still a compliment, okay?)
go fire up your game and hit G for that "Geeegeeeeeee!!!" You've deserved it

hehe thanks shinzy. u so kind 2 mi.  If you need any help with it I will be glad to help you :)
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: RemingtonRyder on October 07, 2014, 11:09:03 AM
Hey!  I will give it a whirl, thanks for taking the time to make it. :)

Edit: Seems to work like a charm.

So if two mods each integrate this mod and are loaded, all that will happen is that they each inject their own recipe defs, right?

Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: GottJammern on October 08, 2014, 01:18:49 PM
Very nice, works like a charm! Able to release my first mod with it too! :P
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] Recipe Nurse Tool
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 08, 2014, 01:25:24 PM
Quote from: marvinkosh on October 07, 2014, 11:09:03 AM

So if two mods each integrate this mod and are loaded, all that will happen is that they each inject their own recipe defs, right?

yeah thats the idea :)
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 10, 2014, 09:38:43 AM
UPDATERINO!

simplified usage of Recipe Nurse to make it more fool proof. It now does everything on its own. No need to configure anything anymore. (except the Recipe of course ;) ]
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: cy-one on October 13, 2014, 10:23:53 AM
Got this error message on loading RimWorld after New Recipe Nurse Tool was installed.


[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 13, 2014, 10:40:31 AM
they are not errors they are debug messages
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: cy-one on October 13, 2014, 01:53:53 PM
Ah, thanks :)
I just wanted to add that it works nevertheless... Which does make a lot of sense if those aren't error messages :D
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: Jaxxa on October 13, 2014, 10:04:24 PM
If instead of using "Log.Error" you use "Log.Message" you will stop the console from coming up automatically, and it will be in white and not red.

You can still check it by pressing "~" to bring up the console yourself.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: Kaidesa on October 29, 2014, 08:08:55 PM
As someone who streams regularly on Twitch, the fact that the "notices" are showing up as errors in the console is a bit distracting.  I usually stream a few games at a time, and people always complain about me switching to RimWorld to a bunch of errors produced by NewRecipeNurse.

I suggest going with Jaxxa's suggesting of turning Log.Error into Log.Message.  Would cause less annoyances with having to manually close the console each time the game launches.

Other than that, all I can say is keep up the good work.  :)
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: RemingtonRyder on October 31, 2014, 11:12:14 PM
Question for you... how do you inject things to worktables with the new version of Recipe Nurse?
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on October 31, 2014, 11:23:48 PM
Quote from: marvinkosh on October 31, 2014, 11:12:14 PM
Question for you... how do you inject things to worktables with the new version of Recipe Nurse?

You dont. Its hardcoded on medical recipes but the old version has a definition which you can use.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: RemingtonRyder on November 01, 2014, 12:02:13 AM
Ah okay then.  Good to know. :)
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: audixas on November 02, 2014, 10:49:35 AM
Trying to download on Opera Mini. It doesn't work. I mean the download never finishes. Other mods download normally from SendSpace. Could you add the file as an attachment?
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: joshwoo69 on November 17, 2014, 10:22:13 PM
Julia. Is it true that I cannot do any operations?
It gives me an error. So how do I do operations?
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on November 17, 2014, 10:46:05 PM
Quote from: joshwoo69 on November 17, 2014, 10:22:13 PM
Julia. Is it true that I cannot do any operations?
It gives me an error. So how do I do operations?

Nope this is BS. Are they Errors or only the red debug messages as stated in the original post? If you dont have any operations in your pawn tab something went wrong with other mods. Try to restart the game and deactivate conflicting mods. I guarantee that NewRecipeNurse is perfectly working so the error source is either the user (usually), other mods or the core game (the restart issue).
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: joshwoo69 on November 26, 2014, 07:18:04 AM
Quote from: JuliaEllie on November 17, 2014, 10:46:05 PM
Quote from: joshwoo69 on November 17, 2014, 10:22:13 PM
Julia. Is it true that I cannot do any operations?
It gives me an error. So how do I do operations?

Nope this is BS. Are they Errors or only the red debug messages as stated in the original post? If you dont have any operations in your pawn tab something went wrong with other mods. Try to restart the game and deactivate conflicting mods. I guarantee that NewRecipeNurse is perfectly working so the error source is either the user (usually), other mods or the core game (the restart issue).
ok will fix that
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: joshwoo69 on November 26, 2014, 07:19:16 AM
Quote from: audixas on November 02, 2014, 10:49:35 AM
Trying to download on Opera Mini. It doesn't work. I mean the download never finishes. Other mods download normally from SendSpace. Could you add the file as an attachment?
audixas are you able to get another browser?
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 7] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.10.14)
Post by: zaparad on December 02, 2014, 05:08:35 PM
Im afraid when i download this mod and press the tick in the mod menu every button in the main menu disappears then i shut rim world down so when i open it, its just a black screen
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on December 10, 2014, 02:54:45 PM
Out now for Alpha 8! Praise Lord Tynan.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: Igabod on December 11, 2014, 04:39:00 AM
Is this mod even necessary any more? I thought A8 was going to introduce changes which made this obsolete.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on December 11, 2014, 04:44:59 AM
Yeah its basically obsolete but I decided to port it because basically every major medical mod uses it and modders can release their updates faster if they change it to the new system after the initial Alpha 8 release or maybe some people even choose not to change to the new system for alpha 8 for whatever reason.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: Jamok on December 13, 2014, 09:36:57 PM
I was wondering how I could get the Alpha 7 version of Recipe Nurse?
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on December 13, 2014, 09:44:14 PM
the new version of RecipeNurse should be reverse compatible so it should work on Alpha 7
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: Jamok on December 13, 2014, 09:50:54 PM
Thank you.  That was a very quick response.  :D
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: Malaras on December 22, 2014, 07:47:32 AM
So as of yesterday from my thread i got my mod working and was playing. Today i load it up and get and XML error.

In Races_humanoid
XML error: <recipeUsers>Human</recipeUsers> doesn't correspond to any field in type ThingDef.


tried in recipesDef also
Exception parsing <recipeUsers>Human</recipeUsers> to type System.Collections.Generic.List`1[Verse.ThingDef]: Exception parsing System.Collections.Generic.List`1[Verse.ThingDef] from "Human"


It was working yesterday, had no error's in console... And haven't touched those files since. Not sure what went wrong.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on December 22, 2014, 08:09:08 AM
Quote from: Malaras on December 22, 2014, 07:47:32 AM
So as of yesterday from my thread i got my mod working and was playing. Today i load it up and get and XML error.

XML error: <recipeUsers>Human</recipeUsers> doesn't correspond to any field in type ThingDef.


It was working yesterday, had no error's in console... And haven't touched those files since. Not sure what went wrong.

This has nothing to do with RecipeNurse. If you use the <recipeUsers> tag you dont use RecipeNurse and vice versa. Also the tag doesnt belong in the ThingDef but in the RecipeDef.
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: Malaras on December 22, 2014, 08:54:04 AM
Ok, Thanks still trying to figure this stuff out, Edited my last post. Tried it in recipedefs also while you was posting reply...
Title: Re: [?MOD?] [ALPHA 8] New Recipe Nurse Tool UPDATERINO (10.12.14)
Post by: JuliaEllie on December 22, 2014, 09:22:21 AM
my bad Im sorry its

<recipeUsers><li>Human</li></recipeUsers>