Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: Minus on October 21, 2014, 06:57:42 PM

Title: [MOD] (Alpha 10) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on October 21, 2014, 06:57:42 PM
Another minimal Minus mod!

Brain surgery was coded into the game, but then disabled. This simply re-enables it. I tried making it only work when researched but that failed. So here it is as simple as can be! Download the attachment.

The A7 version has been left up under the name "BrainRemoval". Don't get that one by mistake.

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Brain Surgery
Post by: rchaves007 on October 21, 2014, 07:49:14 PM
damn ur good! i really love the mechanics behind the surgeries... one of my favorite aspects... is this compatible with your surgery mod and MBP?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on October 21, 2014, 08:06:03 PM
damn ur good! i really love the mechanics behind the surgeries... one of my favorite aspects... is this compatible with your surgery mod and MBP?
Gonna say, probably. However even if it works, it's not gonna go well with them. Both mods have their own brain implants already and don't really need this mod.
Also thanks!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on December 22, 2014, 10:50:28 AM
This mod is compatible with Extended Surgery even though that mod has it's own brain modifiers already. Should be compatible with others too. Updated to Alpha 8!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Girlinhat on December 22, 2014, 06:43:41 PM
What does this... do?  Like, what's the effect?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: elStrages on December 22, 2014, 06:53:35 PM
What does this... do?  Like, what's the effect?
[/quotes] get shot in the brain.. BOOM brain surgery saves the day
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on December 22, 2014, 08:05:55 PM
What does this... do?  Like, what's the effect?
I did say already, and the name of the mod is pretty clear. It let's you harvest brains, as well was implant brains, as you would any other organ. Naturally harvesting a brain kills a colonist.

This was removed in the main game presumebly because a brain transplant has other implications thta cannot yet be coded in. But if you want an easy way to cure a colonist of brain damage than this is the solution. If you're using a more advanced mod with their own solutions though then this isn't a very useful mod.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 22, 2014, 08:53:34 PM
This is a good mod to have in game. Sometimes there's colonists shot in the head that spend the rest of their lives in bed due to coma - brain dead. So, if you get someone and transplant its brain to your beloved colonist, it will come back to life again.

It's pretty sad when your colony hero turns a vegetable and puts you thinking on what to do with him.  :-[
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: kenobi87 on December 23, 2014, 06:11:04 AM
I have harvested a brain and im not seeing an option to "install" a brain in my colonist via the add bill option. I tried when he was resting or walking around and nothing. Any special factors I need to know to get this to work?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 23, 2014, 12:56:02 PM
In alpha 7 I swapped one on a guy that wouldn't leave bed.

In this alpha, I had one guy with damaged  brain, he could walk but fell on the ground after a while. Only solved through an AI chip.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: kenobi87 on December 23, 2014, 01:13:30 PM
I'm unsure of what you mean. Do you have to have an AI core along with a brain to install a new brain in a damaged colonist? Also when you say your colonist fell on the ground after awhile does that mean he had to be injured or knocked out before you were able to do the operation?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 23, 2014, 01:24:32 PM
The colonist was dumbed down from his permanent injury, and moved very slowly, then fell on the floor and I had to save him to a bed  ;D repetively

I made an ai chip to install on him, but the spare brain wasn't used. This fixed the guy. I have yet to check if brains are usable and in what circunstances. (The case above wasn't)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 24, 2014, 12:13:50 PM
Tried simulating a brain wound like the one I saw in alpha 7 and even with a spare brain I couldn't command the surgery.

(http://i59.tinypic.com/jra590.png)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: kenobi87 on December 24, 2014, 12:32:35 PM
That is exactly what is happening to me unfortunately. Also that poor colonist had a brain scratch? how do you get your brain scratched? lol anyways I hope a solution or update comes soon.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 24, 2014, 12:54:34 PM
That is exactly what is happening to me unfortunately. Also that poor colonist had a brain scratch? how do you get your brain scratched? lol anyways I hope a solution or update comes soon.

Yes, hope it's fixed, this mod is funny.

To create the injury, use debug actions menu, pick "apply damage" and the rest you explore. It was easy.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Neutromancer on December 29, 2014, 09:42:22 AM
I've also harvested a brain and am not seeing an option to install it to my colonist.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Turtle Medic on December 29, 2014, 10:26:40 AM
Minus made the mod fine, it just has an unlisted dependency on new recipe nurse because the medical recipes is missing about 6 lines of code.

I've added them in and the mod no longer requires new recipe nurse, Ill attach it as a download.

[attachment deleted due to age]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Neutromancer on December 29, 2014, 01:39:50 PM
Thanks, I downloaded the latest version but I suppose the file name hadn't changed.

I'm adding the new recipe nurse anyway since it seems other mods may be derping too because of it. It seems alright now (haven't updated the BrainSurgery mod in my game yet).
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 29, 2014, 02:04:58 PM
Great turtle medic, as soon as I can I'll try it.  :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: kenobi87 on December 29, 2014, 03:03:29 PM
Thanks for the update. Haven't tested it yet but will soon. Thanks!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: john pretzel on December 31, 2014, 12:37:17 PM
I've tried it now, and brain install is still not in the list - I try installing a chip and replace, and also brain damage to replace, none worked.  :-[

Turtle, did you just updated the dependency of recipe nurse?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on January 09, 2015, 11:12:35 AM
Minus made the mod fine, it just has an unlisted dependency on new recipe nurse because the medical recipes is missing about 6 lines of code.

I've added them in and the mod no longer requires new recipe nurse, Ill attach it as a download.
Didn't know recipe nurse needed more than the medical operation speed thingy to work. But anyway I've updated first post. Recipe Nurse not needed. It was a single line of code missing.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Ksajimato on February 17, 2015, 05:26:55 PM
Brain is not going into stockpiles, any solution?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: skullywag on February 17, 2015, 06:21:42 PM
So challenge for alpha 9, when harvesting a brain make it store the "personality" of the pawn, then make it imprint on the new pawn that receives it.

For the above post does the brain have:
Code: [Select]
<thingCategories>
      <li>BodyParts</li>
    </thingCategories>
in the def, it needs it if not.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Brain Surgery
Post by: Zav on February 21, 2015, 03:46:09 PM
First mod I have ever installed!  Couple of things:

1:  No one actually executes this surgery, I harvested a brain successfully, scheduled a guy for brain surgery successfully as well.  I try to assign a medical person to prioritize the surgery but it doesn't recognize that theres any action to perform on the guy in the hospital bed.  Also if I just wait for the game to auto-assign a medical person to do it, the surgery never happens.  The operation is billed on the character, and the status section recognizes that a colonist is waiting for an operation though.

2:  Can't assign the brain to a stockpile, the storage options for body parts lacks a category for brains

Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 10) Brain Surgery
Post by: Minus on May 03, 2015, 02:12:21 AM
Alpha 10 compatible, with storage issues fixed, I think.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 10) Brain Surgery
Post by: No on May 05, 2015, 12:53:04 PM
Colonists and prisoners don't get a mood debuff for harvesting a bodypart form a prisoner like they usually do when you harvest a brain.

Decent mod toough, thank you, hope you'll fix that eventually.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 10) Brain Surgery
Post by: Remorium on July 05, 2015, 07:59:53 PM
Is someone going to update this to Alpha 11B? Someone had to do so for Minus's other surgery mod, and this one is pretty useful.