Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: ItchyFlea on December 18, 2014, 09:07:23 PM

Title: [MOD] (Alpha 9) RTG's (Power Source) v1.11
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 18, 2014, 09:07:23 PM
RTG's v1.11
(https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=8338.0;attach=5573)

Description:

This mod adds a new power generator to the game. An RTG (Radioisotope thermoelectric generator). It uses Uranium as part of it's building requirement and produces a steady amount of power at all times. It produces 750w of power.
Since it is an RTG, it also produces heat. You'll need to keep the room it is in cool otherwise it will cause fires.
This mod also adds an ASRG (Advanced Stirling radioisotope generator). It requires a heck of a lot of research. It produces 1250w of power.

Mod Team:
Download:

[attachment deleted due to age]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Ded1 on December 18, 2014, 09:29:34 PM
So any possibility of making a mod that adds more heating/cooling devices?  It's pretty much impossible to heat/cool large spaces without needing a ridiculous amount of devices to do it.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Raufgar on December 18, 2014, 09:39:52 PM
Hahaha, I was wondering when someone would put in RTGs into RimWorld. What with us putting raw Uranium on open air stockpiles and such :P Kudos to the Rimworld Cat! And I hope your fleas did not mutate...

Master Shinzy! Your kind assistance is required!

Some reference material (http://www.bionic3d.com/style/images/portfolio/Multi-Mission-Radioisotope-Thermoelectric-Generator-MMRTG.jpg)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Igabod on December 18, 2014, 09:50:36 PM
So any possibility of making a mod that adds more heating/cooling devices?  It's pretty much impossible to heat/cool large spaces without needing a ridiculous amount of devices to do it.

Have you seen my Heated Floors (https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=8223) mod yet? I'm also about to start working on a fan object that uses far less electricity than the cooler and doesn't exhaust heat. It will also not cool nearly as efficiently.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Ded1 on December 18, 2014, 09:56:59 PM
I commented on the thread and am the one who brought up the electricity using ones lol.  I am talking about more powerful heating methods though.  so i can heat my mines without having 50 heaters (or 500 of your floor tiles).
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Igabod on December 18, 2014, 10:05:55 PM
I commented on the thread and am the one who brought up the electricity using ones lol.  I am talking about more powerful heating methods though.  so i can heat my mines without having 50 heaters (or 500 of your floor tiles).

Ah I see. You want a central heating unit type thing that is more effective than the vanilla heaters. I might be able to whip something like that up. It looks like Heated Floors is going to change names into Heating and Cooling mod or something.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Ded1 on December 18, 2014, 10:43:43 PM
I doubt anyone would mind.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Rilamus on December 18, 2014, 11:14:08 PM
Hey great mod! I'm glad someone finally made RTGs anyway I made a texture, it took me about five minutes to make so it's not that great. it's just a slight update if anyone really can't stand the default texture

[attachment deleted due to age]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 18, 2014, 11:28:37 PM
Hey great mod! I'm glad someone finally made RTGs anyway I made a texture, it took me about five minutes to make so it's not that great. it's just a slight update if anyone really can't stand the default texture
I can't stand the default texture. Thankyou for posting this. I've included it in the mod to replace what I drew and given you credit.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Igabod on December 19, 2014, 12:40:24 AM
Hey great mod! I'm glad someone finally made RTGs anyway I made a texture, it took me about five minutes to make so it's not that great. it's just a slight update if anyone really can't stand the default texture

I'm jealous... something like that took you 5 minutes to make? I don't even have the patience to find out how many hours something like that would take me.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: jacob814 on December 23, 2014, 08:41:11 PM
I still cant stand the texture... I'm going to try to make another one that is a little better suited for the rimworld art style.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Loki88 on December 23, 2014, 10:58:58 PM
Could these be scalable? As in you could research a more powerful rtg but with higher risks etc, maybe even a containment breach event or something. I'm just looking for a buildable indoor power source that isn't contingent upon lucking out on a geyser popping up in a mountain. I'm all for having associated risks involved since it has to have some kind of draw back to keep things balanced and interesting.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Vaperius on December 23, 2014, 11:07:13 PM
Add a research topic. These machines are very complex devices, colonist's shouldn't immediately know how to use or construct them.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Vas on December 24, 2014, 02:21:54 AM
I don't think RTGs cause conduits to explode.  They produce such tiny amounts of power, that they are otherwise useless.  A single box in an RTG produces 16 watts, using 2 marsh mellow sized bits of plutonium-238.  The RTG I saw had 8 of these, giving it about 128 watts of production, while being about the size of a car engine once it was encased in protection and such.  It produced extremely minimal heat levels but would provide power for 87.8 years, degrading over time until the radioactive fuel source decayed into U-234 which has a double cluster emission decay, which can't power in the same way an RTG works, so it is useless.  On the plus side, it lasts 245,500 years in this state.  :P
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: jacob814 on December 24, 2014, 09:36:12 AM
So back to my post yesterday, I didnt really like the old RTG texture so... I made a new one:

(http://puu.sh/dHNxL.png)

Picture Download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/t73y6urlfuuri5f/RTG.rar?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/s/t73y6urlfuuri5f/RTG.rar?dl=0)

Also... To make this a bit more balanced, make the heat produced from this thing quite a bit more, if their is vegetation near it, make the vegetation burn. The last thing is to make the amount of metal you need triple of the amount that is now. Once you have that I think Ill be happy with this mod.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Vas on December 24, 2014, 01:35:01 PM
You might be able to make the graphic Selectable Itchy.  I seen it done once before.  So once the building is built, the user can cycle through some graphics on the item.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: byondtester on December 24, 2014, 02:11:33 PM
Could you be more specific in regards to how much power it generates?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Loki88 on December 25, 2014, 11:10:33 AM
Could you be more specific in regards to how much power it generates?

In RL they only produce a few hundred watts, although the soviets did make larger ones fueled by strontium-90 instead of the usual plutonium-238 that were large enough to power remote lighthouses.

In game they produce a constant 750w
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Loki88 on December 25, 2014, 11:16:34 AM
Would you consider adding an ASRG to this as an extremely expensive researchable upgrade to this? NASA is working on them right now to replace the RTGs they currently use saying they're about 4x as efficient.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Libertha on December 27, 2014, 02:07:01 PM
For some reason it will keep saying not connected to power while it clearly is:


[attachment deleted due to age]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 27, 2014, 03:41:00 PM
For some reason it will keep saying not connected to power while it clearly is:
Maybe there is a break in your conduit line that you can't see in this screenshot.

Would you consider adding an ASRG to this as an extremely expensive researchable upgrade to this? NASA is working on them right now to replace the RTGs they currently use saying they're about 4x as efficient.
Sure.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Ded1 on December 27, 2014, 03:52:14 PM
no he is right, even when connected to your electrical system, it always says its not.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 27, 2014, 04:03:47 PM
no he is right, even when connected to your electrical system, it always says its not.
I never noticed that before. Will see what I can do.

EDIT: It was the battery component causing it. I've removed it.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.0
Post by: Loki88 on December 27, 2014, 04:11:02 PM
no he is right, even when connected to your electrical system, it always says its not.

It seems to be the battery portion of this saying it's not connected. the power gen still works though but I don't think the power storage is working as intended. Removing the ability to store power from its xml seems to fix the problem but defeats the purpose of having it able to store power (maybe it doesn't like being connected to transmit power twice?)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 27, 2014, 04:30:03 PM
And a new version is up.

New version adds an ASRG, which can only be built after completing the related research. Produces 500w more power than an RTG and is 3x3 in size instead of 2x2.
I've removed the battery component to get rid of the annoying 'Not connected to power' message. Although this probably means that the RTG's will no longer cause the conduit explosion event.
I've also bumped up the steel cost slightly on the RTG. Now it need 120 Steel, before it was 80.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: Loki88 on December 27, 2014, 05:18:05 PM
YES! You're awesome ItchyFlea! Thanks for adding the ASRG, the RTG didn't feel like it had quite enough power (which makes sense since in reality they really don't)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: jacob814 on December 28, 2014, 05:12:59 PM
Did you not read my post about the texture I created on page one? I would like at least a reply saying you saw it.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: ItchyFlea on December 28, 2014, 05:17:34 PM
Did you not read my post about the texture I created on page one? I would like at least a reply saying you saw it.
I have put it in the mod as the texture for the ASRG and given you credit in the OP about it.
Your post is also why I increased the metal cost a bit.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: gagaeuh on December 28, 2014, 05:50:46 PM
Great mod for a great game ! But the traders don't seem to sell uranium. They sell artistic goods made of uranium but not uranium itself. Is this normal ?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: Loki88 on December 28, 2014, 06:24:05 PM
Great mod for a great game ! But the traders don't seem to sell uranium. They sell artistic goods made of uranium but not uranium itself. Is this normal ?

The bulk goods traders carry it sometimes. It seems to be fairly rare in this alpha. Also after you've opened one of the capsules you can claim it and disassemble it for a bit of uranium.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: 1000101 on December 31, 2014, 03:21:35 PM
So, I've never posted on this forum before but I've got to say that this mod is one the best for solving the power/heating issues in colder biomes (my current colony uses no heaters just vented GeoThermal and RTGs).  One problem, not enough uranium.

So, I added uranium deposits.

Code: ("ThingsDef\Uranium Mining.xml") [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<ThingDefs>

  <ThingDef Name="BuildingNaturalBase" Abstract="True">
    <category>Building</category>
    <selectable>true</selectable>
    <drawerType>MapMeshOnly</drawerType>
  </ThingDef>


  <ThingDef Name="RockBase" ParentName="BuildingNaturalBase" Abstract="True" >
    <eType>Rock</eType>
    <thingClass>Mineable</thingClass>
    <graphicPath>Things/Building/Linked/Rock_Atlas</graphicPath>
    <graphicClass>Graphic_Single</graphicClass>
    <linkDrawerType>CornerFiller</linkDrawerType>
    <altitudeLayer>BuildingTall</altitudeLayer>
    <passability>Impassable</passability>
    <castEdgeShadows>true</castEdgeShadows>
    <fillPercent>1</fillPercent>
    <coversFloor>true</coversFloor>
    <neverMultiSelect>true</neverMultiSelect>
    <rotatable>false</rotatable>
    <saveCompressible>true</saveCompressible>
    <filthLeavings>
      <RockRubble>2</RockRubble>
    </filthLeavings>
    <holdsRoof>true</holdsRoof>
    <staticSunShadowHeight>1.0</staticSunShadowHeight>
    <blockLight>true</blockLight>
    <mineable>true</mineable>
    <statBases>
      <Flammability>0</Flammability>
    </statBases>
    <building>
      <isNaturalRock>true</isNaturalRock>
      <soundMined>CollapseRock</soundMined>
      <canBuildNonEdificesUnder>false</canBuildNonEdificesUnder>
    </building>
    <linkFlags>
      <li>Rock</li>
      <li>MapEdge</li>
    </linkFlags>
  </ThingDef>


  <!--============================ URANIUM! ===============================-->


  <ThingDef ParentName="RockBase">
    <defName>MineableUranium</defName>
    <label>raw uranium</label>
    <graphicPath>Things/Building/Linked/RockFlecked_Atlas</graphicPath>
    <graphicClass>Graphic_Single</graphicClass>
    <shaderType>CutoutComplex</shaderType>
    <defaultColor>(83,92,114)</defaultColor>
    <defaultColorTwo>(107,133,155)</defaultColorTwo>
    <statBases>
      <MaxHealth>10000</MaxHealth>
    </statBases>
    <description>Fueling advanced advanced power generators is going to take some oomph.</description>
    <building>
      <isResourceRock>true</isResourceRock>
      <mineableThing>Uranium</mineableThing>
      <mineableYield>35</mineableYield>
      <mineableScatterCommonality>0.01</mineableScatterCommonality>
    </building>
  </ThingDef>

</ThingDefs>

The chance is set to very low (less than silver, gold and plasteel) and very hard (same as plasteel).

Great mod, I am about to redownload for the ARTGs.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: Grizzlyadamz on January 06, 2015, 02:16:13 AM
Great textures, looks good.

Sounds like the power is a bit underwhelming though- matched by wind turbines?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: Asero on January 06, 2015, 04:55:46 AM
Sounds like the power is a bit underwhelming though- matched by wind turbines?

Normally I'm the first one to complain about 'underpowered' stuff (among other things), but considering that your getting a very reliable and self sustaining power source: only for the initial construction materials, it's really not that bad considering. I think the issue is that Uranium is required for construction which is very hard to get with the unreliable trading system used in the game >:(

I have to admit though that I was a little disappointed with the ASRG, hoping it would add a little more than just the extra 500W...
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: chaotix14 on January 12, 2015, 09:49:50 AM
When you compare the RTG to all other sources of power you'll quickly notice it's by far the most "overpowered" one. First and foremost, you can place it anywhere you'd like. Solars and wind turbines need to be outside, geothermals need to be over steam vents.
Secondly it's small, only 2/5 of the footprint of the wind turbines structure(disregarding the huge space you need to keep 'empty' around them). And given how it produces 750W it gives you the most power per tile used*.
Thirds, it provides heat. Now of course this can be a double edged sword, depending on which temperatures your colony faces, but most colonies can make use of it.(and you can negate it by placing the thing outside, or in a room with a partial missing roof)
Of course this all comes at the disadvantage that you need to get some uranium from a trader, or by some other method.
But if in the end you aren't satisfied with the energy output of the RTG, you can always muck around in the thingdefs and up the power output.

*: when compared to vanilla, some other mods add more ridiculous generators. See Industrialisation for a really expensive, but very space efficient power plant.



Also I have to agree that the ASRG is a bit underwhelming. It's over double the size, costs a load of research and when you look at it from the construction costs all you save is 23 uranium(2/3X50-10=23,33333).
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: 1000101 on January 15, 2015, 12:32:26 PM
I suppose no one considers the power density (power-per-tile generation).

Given the area of each power source, the power density (how much power is generated in a tile):

Solar Panel (4x4, 1750 max) : 109.375 density (max)
Wind Turbine (2x6, 750 max) : 62.5 density (max)
GeoThermal (6x6, 3600 constant) : 100 density (constant)
RTG (2x2, 750 constant) : 187.5 (constant)
ASRG (3x3, 1250 constant) : 138.889 (constant)
Nuclear Plant (https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=8902.0) ( 6x6 24000 constant) : 666.666 (constant)

The RTG and ASRG are both high but the RTG is too high.  Dropping the RTG and ASRG to 115 and 130 density (460 and 1170 outputs) I think it would be more balanced.

Not really as OP as the Nuclear plant though.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) RTG's (Power Source) v1.1
Post by: StorymasterQ on January 15, 2015, 09:03:02 PM
Nuclear Plant (https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=8902.0) ( 6x6 24000 constant) : 666.666 (constant)

Sounds like the beginning of the religious argument against nuclear plants :D
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 9) RTG's (Power Source) v1.11
Post by: ItchyFlea on February 18, 2015, 10:58:05 PM
Updated to Alpha 9
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 9) RTG's (Power Source) v1.11
Post by: ItchyFlea on February 20, 2015, 03:05:41 PM
Any discussion, bug reports, feature requests, etc, should be posted in this thread where this mod now lives: https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=10623.0

Thread locked.