Binge drinking and starvation.

Started by loc978, February 20, 2015, 12:42:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loc978

Add this one to the stack of odd new AI behavior.

So I have a colonist with chemical fascination who started going on regular binges as soon as I started brewing beer. It was usually quite funny. Sometimes she would vomit in the corner, eat a meal, vomit it back up, eat another... the cook would have to get out of bed to keep the cycle going, and that was fine.

Then one time, she started a binge while she was already hungry, passed right by the stacks of meals in the freezer to get to the beer. She drank the usual amount, and wandered around, not eating. Tried to manually tell her to eat, but couldn't, since she was in a "broken" Mental state. About the time her starvation hit 20%, I arrested her, thinking I could feed her with another colonist... but she wasn't incapacitated, so they just left a fine meal in the cell with her.

I think it was around a day later when the binge ended, she ate the meal and I released her. I may have just overreacted to the starvation warning, she only went up to about 40%... but... is this by design, or did I stumble on a bug?

*edit*
I was unsure whether I should put this in bugs or stories... so I put it in general. :P

tommytom

I'd like to think it's intended, but starving from a single binge is insane. Food would have to be reworked to be eaten daily to stay healthy and eat once a week to stay alive with malnutrition (random unconsciousness, slowed movement, etc).

Matthiasagreen

A similar issue that tynan addressed. He said he will release a hotfix for it, so maybe it will fix yours too.

http://www.reddit.com/r/RimWorld/comments/2wign4/problem_with_binging_colonists/
Hi, my name is Matthias and I am a Rimworld Addict. It has been five seconds since my last fix...

Tynan

Yes, it's actually a bug which is fixed, I'm assembling a hotfixed build which will solve a number of issues like this.