A Modders website

Started by skullywag, March 09, 2015, 07:01:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skullywag

Hi all,

I recently had a small discussion in the "mod release rules" thread regarding the issue of too many mods for this forum. I had already decided that being a professional web dev I was going to build myself a home for my mods.

I have begun that process, this is 1 hour in:

Drupal is my CMF (content management framework) of choice as I have 8+ years experience developing with it. Theres obviously no theme (skin) yet as im busy getting the ground work of categories, entities, media, links all sorted, so it looks a little dull but what is there is already html5 ready and mobile responsive (due to the awsomeness that is Adaptive theme). Im hoping to expand this beyond what you see here and rather quickly i might add. Everything that is added to this site will be available on a RESTful api by default so other sites/applications can consume the data if they so wish. Everything that ive added so far (and everything that will be added) is available to a search mechanism as well .

This thread will serve as a discussion, suggestion, feedback thread of sorts. Im planning to get articles on modding and help placed on here as well.

Im very aware of things like the nexus and other mod repos existing, personally im not a fan as they end up taking the user away from the "home" site in question and break the community. That IS NOT what this is, discussion of my mods will continue on here, they will just be categorisable/searchable in a better way than a forum can provide.

The plan is get all my stuff up on this and if the community thinks its good enough ill make it open for people to add their stuff. There is no money making intent behind this, no advertising will be used, this is purely because I have the skills and the want of it.