Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • December 10, 2019, 09:05:49 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 13

Author Topic: [A11] Darkness  (Read 76813 times)

Famous Shoes

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #105 on: March 08, 2015, 03:02:23 PM »

I've noticed that solar generators are pulling over 500-600 watts when Darkness has the player's view essentially pitch black (in clear conditions,) i.e., the game's idea of when it's dark and what Darkness is establishing appear slightly offset. Since there doesn't seem to any time variables or code in Darkness, I'm guessing the only hope for improving that state would be a tweaking of the NightEdge and/or Dusk values?
Logged

Viceroy

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Gas-proof maniac!
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #106 on: March 12, 2015, 03:53:32 PM »

Yeah the solars don't really use 'light' as much as they use an estimated value of light based on the time of the day/night cycle. I'd have to program like a custom solar generator class and have the mod overwrite the vanilla solars that way in order to tweak it in any way.

I might do it if I get the time. Just can't believe how busy I am lately. See you around dude/ette/s. And thanks Famous Shoes for pointing that out. I didn't really notice that; but it'll probably drive me nuts going forward :p
Logged
Dog goes moo!

Dr. Z

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 751
  • Disciple of the one beeing ment to rule the galaxy
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #107 on: March 19, 2015, 05:09:53 AM »

Like the SBO version, didn't have a rainy night yet but it looks good. The only thing that's bothering me is that unlit rooms are brighter at day then at night because the mod alters the overall light level instead of the actuall light and darkness calcuation in the game. I can imagine that that would be a hell of a job but if you could do that it would be much more intense.
Logged
Prasie the Squirrel!

Remorium

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #108 on: April 23, 2015, 01:52:21 AM »

Sorry to be the person asking this, but do you have an estimated time of when this mod will be updated to Alpha 10? Because this is one of my favorite ambient mods I've seen yet.
Logged

Ninefinger

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 284
  • Modpack Curator
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #109 on: April 23, 2015, 03:18:39 AM »

Sorry to be the person asking this, but do you have an estimated time of when this mod will be updated to Alpha 10? Because this is one of my favorite ambient mods I've seen yet.

it already works for alpha 10! :D
Logged

rexx1888

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #110 on: April 23, 2015, 04:19:54 AM »

yeah this mod just changes a bunch of defs, even if by some chance it stops working, itll take you two seconds to fix it :D
Logged

Kolljak

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #111 on: April 25, 2015, 10:13:11 AM »

Is there anything you can do about Bright Eclipses. the eclipses in 20% brighter then the night.

Latta

  • Tester
  • Colonist
  • **
  • Posts: 643
  • Red
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #112 on: April 25, 2015, 10:45:33 AM »

Is there anything you can do about Bright Eclipses. the eclipses in 20% brighter then the night.

Eclipse brightness is hardcoded. To make it worse it's not in incident but in mapcondition.
Logged

Ninefinger

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 284
  • Modpack Curator
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #113 on: April 25, 2015, 12:25:48 PM »

Is there anything you can do about Bright Eclipses. the eclipses in 20% brighter then the night.

Eclipse brightness is hardcoded. To make it worse it's not in incident but in mapcondition.

on alpha 9 i simply made it so that the eclipse was turned off and added a new incident called eclipse and made it be all dark during day and night but the problem is that solar panels still work during the day even if its dark and there is was no pop up message saying "eclipse".
Logged

Latta

  • Tester
  • Colonist
  • **
  • Posts: 643
  • Red
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #114 on: April 25, 2015, 12:52:03 PM »

Please ignore my last comment; brightness is hardcoded in MapConditionManager, not MapCondition itself, which is even worse.

Is there anything you can do about Bright Eclipses. the eclipses in 20% brighter then the night.

Eclipse brightness is hardcoded. To make it worse it's not in incident but in mapcondition.

on alpha 9 i simply made it so that the eclipse was turned off and added a new incident called eclipse and made it be all dark during day and night but the problem is that solar panels still work during the day even if its dark and there is was no pop up message saying "eclipse".

You should follow vanilla eclipse style. Not just a Incident but a MapCondition, and register the condition in TryExecute of the IncidentWorker for eclipse. Pop-up message belongs to MapCondition.

Maybe overriding entire eclipse will work, even with solar power? But I'm not sure whether MapConditionManager will choose overriden MapCondition instead of vanilla one.
Logged

Ninefinger

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 284
  • Modpack Curator
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #115 on: April 25, 2015, 12:57:39 PM »

Please ignore my last comment; brightness is hardcoded in MapConditionManager, not MapCondition itself, which is even worse.

Is there anything you can do about Bright Eclipses. the eclipses in 20% brighter then the night.

Eclipse brightness is hardcoded. To make it worse it's not in incident but in mapcondition.

on alpha 9 i simply made it so that the eclipse was turned off and added a new incident called eclipse and made it be all dark during day and night but the problem is that solar panels still work during the day even if its dark and there is was no pop up message saying "eclipse".

You should follow vanilla eclipse style. Not just a Incident but a MapCondition, and register the condition in TryExecute of the IncidentWorker for eclipse. Pop-up message belongs to MapCondition.

Maybe overriding entire eclipse will work, even with solar power? But I'm not sure whether MapConditionManager will choose overriden MapCondition instead of vanilla one.
i have a feeling this might get into dll territory lol the extent of my modding capabilities is xml loool :D but i will look into what you suggested as purely xml. thanks.
Logged

Kolljak

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #116 on: April 25, 2015, 01:08:44 PM »

Same here. Q.Q and im only just learning it by doing self made compatability stuff. i might start posting Compatability versions of peoples favorite mods to lighten the load on other modders but most of it is learning for Project Eons when the game is out of Alpha.

LittleGreenStone

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 286
  • Does this moss make me look fat?
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #117 on: April 29, 2015, 01:02:37 AM »

Any words on an A10 update? Will it bend? ^^
Logged

Ninefinger

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 284
  • Modpack Curator
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #118 on: April 29, 2015, 01:14:28 AM »

Any words on an A10 update? Will it bend? ^^

i have modified darkness to work with alpha 10 in my ultimate overhaul modpack.
Logged

kaptain_kavern

  • Planetologist
  • ****
  • Posts: 2074
  • started 10 mods in one tick.
    • View Profile
    • RimWorldMod Slack - A place for live chatting about RimWorld modding
Re: [MOD](Alpha 9) Darkness
« Reply #119 on: May 02, 2015, 06:37:14 PM »

i have modified darkness to work with alpha 10 in my ultimate overhaul modpack.

If it is not too much of a burden for you, can you share how you've done it plz?

EDIT   :
P.S. 2 : After thinking a bit (like 3 secondes later ...  :-X ) i guess i can dl your pack and only take the "Darkness" directory ...

Thx anyway. And that goes to all the modding community   o7
« Last Edit: May 02, 2015, 06:42:23 PM by kaptain_kavern »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 13