RimWorld Review / Difficulty based on time

Started by A1win, July 30, 2015, 08:22:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

A1win

I started playing RimWorld on July 10, 2015, and I've been streaming all of my games on Twitch; the first week or so without voice commentary, only talking on chat, and then about a week with voice—the first time I've ever done that! Now I've had a break of nearly a week, because I can't come up with ways to make the game more challenging without breaking its balance. I'm a 'powergamer' by heart, which means that in pretty much every game I play, I play 'to win'; not because I enjoy winning, but because that way the gameplay and the mechanics of the game reveal themselves to me in their purest form. I'm also a game designer, which is why these things are so important to me.

In the beginning, RimWorld is really hard, but it isn't hard to get into. Every game, I learned something new about the game and made it a bit further than the last time. The game is hard for the same reason why roguelikes are hard: There's a lot of information that you need to know, and you just don't know it. You need to learn it the hard way (or read it up on the Internet, which I restrained from doing at all). If done right, this kind of gameplay is a very fun experience, like solving a mystery, or doing science in a different universe where it doesn't take the combined effort of all humankind and millennias of research to make progress. RimWorld does it right, which makes it one of the best games that I've played. However, now that I've beaten all of the challenges built into the game that interest me (random characters, flat desert, cold ice sheet), I have no more motivation to keep playing!