Everything that is wrong with mods as they are now from a new player perspective

Started by Smikis, March 23, 2015, 07:59:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smikis

I am new here and I am not a modder, but I am player that has been using mods for last decade.
I know game is still in alpha and might be in alpha for another 2 years, game state has nothing to do with actual modding.

This is my view as a new player.

1. Most important, modpacks, guys/ladies all of us appreciate your hard work and as a comp science student I know there is pride in anything you creat, but having 200 small mods with at least 1/3 of them conflicting with the rest is nightmare. Some of most well know mods started as a collection of many small mods.   Imagine being new player, opening mod forum to find 200+ small mods, knowing that half of them will conflict just by reading first 3 posts, it is very discouraging let a lone incredibly time consuming.

2. Mods with same content. I am fairly confident that if you asked modder that has created similar mod as one you are trying to make, he would allow you to improve his instead of having second mod that might share some of its features and in the future both would be mutually exclusive instead of one bigger mod, which would eventually could lead into modpacks or total overhaul mod.

3. Downloading mods. I've noticed that this forum allows attachment,  but for some reason people aren't using them, which makes going through those 200+ mods a total nightmare, there is rimworlds nexus as well, but since its client doesnt support RimWorld yet, not many people upload there. One simple rule could remove the need to deal with 20 different download sites for each mod, either force people to use attachments or recommend single good sharing website such as dropbox, surely no mod will exceed this limit

QuoteDropbox Basic (free) accounts:

The total amount of traffic that all of your links together can generate without getting banned is 20 GB per day.