RimWorld Core XML

Started by milon, November 16, 2015, 07:59:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

milon

So I decided there had to be a better way of learning RimWorld XML modding than just searching and look at example after example.  It turns out, there is!  I wrote a script to join all the Core XML files into 1, dumped out an inferred XSD from it, and translated that into both an SVG and an HTML file.  I now share these with you.  Enjoy!

I would appreciate any/all feedback.  I have had NO experience with XSD before this project, so I have no idea if this will be useful to anyone or not.

My results, in order of file size:
CoreXML.xsd 412 Kb (I have no experience with xsd - is this useful?)
CoreXML.xml 1.48 MB (all Core XML's concatenated into 1 file)
CoreXML-HTML.zip 5.63 MB (need to unzip to access all files)
CoreXML.svg 41.8 MB (yes, it's very large!)

Hopefully this can grow into a full-fledged modders help file!

EDIT - Obsolete downloads removed. See new thread instead: https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=21440.0

milon

* cricket, cricket *

I don't have a download count since this is all hosted on my Dropbox.  Did anyone find this helpful?

Fluffy (l2032)

yes and no. Yea, it's potentially very helpful. But it's too much information for a static overview. If the tool could build a linked version with multiple pages (one per 'main' tag), that'ld be a lot easier to use as a reference.

That said, I've got it tucked away and ready for the next time I can't find the right XML tag ;).

Alistaire

I made something similar a while back but when you really want to know something about a tag you're probably modding in C# and when
you're modding in C# you got ILSpy open which contains this and more.

RawCode

notepad++ allows to perform look up over multiple files, this feature makes any kind of "harvesting" obsolete.

i just can't imagine task that i cannot perform just by using vanilla notepad++ features.