How to deal with cold snap/heat wave

Started by PyschoPath, August 09, 2015, 07:03:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PyschoPath

i cant keep my rooms cold/hot enough and my colonists die because of it, plz help.

Note: sorry for the mass questions on the forums, i started playing again recently and i am very bad :/

muffins

Cold snap - heaters in rooms, or heaters in passageways with vents linking the passageway to the rooms you want to keep warm. A passageway or a room with lots of doors will leak heat out quite fast so will need more heaters.

Heat wave - Air-conditioners/coolers. Use them just like you would with a walk-in chiller/freezer except have some method of pumping the heat to the outside.

Airlocks are also great for keeping warm/cooled air where you want it (basically they're just door-space-door which slows leaking right down).

PyschoPath

Quote from: muffins on August 09, 2015, 07:11:41 PM
Cold snap - heaters in rooms, or heaters in passageways with vents linking the passageway to the rooms you want to keep warm. A passageway or a room with lots of doors will leak heat out quite fast so will need more heaters.

Heat wave - Air-conditioners/coolers. Use them just like you would with a walk-in chiller/freezer except have some method of pumping the heat to the outside.

Airlocks are also great for keeping warm/cooled air where you want it (basically they're just door-space-door which slows leaking right down).

I don't quite get what you mean by that,can you show me a screenshot of a working system? And i appreciate all the help you have given me :D

VPineault

And how exactly am I supposed to deal with a Solar Flare happening at the same time as a heat Stroke. Brace I suppose ?

Mr.Cross

If that happens you can only hope they don't die in a day....
Claims to know most things.

Coenmcj

Quote from: VPineault on August 09, 2015, 07:55:58 PM