Texture modding for a confused newb...

Started by TitchWitch, September 06, 2015, 03:24:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TitchWitch

Hi there,
I only recently discovered Rimworld and I'm really enjoying it (not sure how I missed hearing anything about it before now because I love games like this!)

I've seen on the forum that people are making some cool new textures and graphics and I'd really love to have a go at that too... but there's a tiny stumbling block. I have absolutely no idea how to mod games and code scares me!
I work as a graphic designer/ illustrator so I know how to do the drawing part... it's just how to magically get those drawings into a game where I come unstuck.
I've been reading through some of the posts here and trying to figure it out, but I'm not sure if things changed for the latest update since the tutorials were made? (I noticed the tutorials were labelled obsolete now, and some of the stuff in a graphics pack I got from here didn't seem like stuff from the game now)

Could anyone explain it for me as if you were trying to explain it to a slowpoke colonist with a brain problem?! Or point me in the right direction of a tutorial that will work with the current build...
I'd be working on a Mac using illustrator and photoshop and I'd like to be able to test graphics out as I go along if that's possible so I can see what kind of things work or not if that's possible.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!

cuproPanda

With .XML modding, it's really quite simple. I'll be using my Soda Brewing mod to explain, because it's small and I have experience with it.

• Every (XML) mod folder has 3 folders: About, Defs, and Textures
  • Textures go in the /Textures/Things/... folders. You can organize these however you want, but most people stick to Things/Items, Things/Building, etc.