Thinking of making the jump from windows 7 to Osx

Started by namrehtaew, August 29, 2015, 08:18:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

namrehtaew

Hi all,   My win7 pc is getting old now and overdue for a change. Until recently, I was planning to make the move to a win10 based pc as I have been using Windows for 25 years! The seed of doubt was sown in my mind after seeing my nephew using his new Macbook Pro! Needless to say I was very impressed....and this is from a lifelong Apple hater lol!
       The one thing that will stop me from making the move is not being able to run my favorite games which include Rimworld and Factorio right at the top of that list! Does Rimworld run as well or better on Osx than win10? ( given equivalent hardware )......  Any thoughts??

Menuhin

Speaking as someone who grew up around both.  My first pc was windows, then I used OSX for around 6 years then switched back to windows.  Both operating systems work fine, but the reason I moved away from OSX is simply the lack of games.  Even with things like wine, and games ported to mac the amount of games you can reasonably play is greatly decreased.

As to how rimworld and factorio in particular and how they run on OSX i can not say as I haven't played them on OSX.  But in general most video games will be running better on windows then they will on OSX assuming equivalent hardware.  This is simply because the vast majority of games were written for and on windows, the ports allowing you to play on OSX can sometimes be pretty decent and it'd be hard to notice a difference and other times it will be a severe decrease in performance.

akiceabear

I've played on both Windows and OSX (using a MacBook Pro). The performance is essentially the same, although there are a few small annoyances on Mac - for example, there sometimes are odd graphical artifacts around trees swaying in the wind.