Modifying Bills.

Started by Skraps, October 31, 2015, 09:57:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skraps

Hey all. I'm new to modding but not programming. Sorry if this is a too noob question for the forum, but I had trouble finding helpful and complete information on the topic. I have an idea for a mod that extends users control over bill creation. I've been reading the decompiled code on how bills work. However I'm not sure how I could extend the capabilities of the bills without modifying the core code or overriding it and having everything that pointed to it changed and so on until the whole game is changed. I assume this is a common problem in modding so I assume there's a known solution, but I can't seem to think of it. The main part of the mod would involve adding additional Bill repeat modes (e.g. do until X) but to actually add new functionality I would need to modify the Bill_Production class. How would I do this? Is there another way?

Fluffy (l2032)

I'm afraid it's going to have to be overwrite the class and everything that points to it.

On a side note, my manager mod does some extension things with bills by automatically adding/updating/deleting bills, which theoretically allows all kinds of start/stop triggers. (right now there's just a thingfilter trigger, which means you can do things like 'up to x of >50% hp and > normal quality', or 'down to 0' for smelting/burning jobs.)

Skraps

Really? That's the only way? Well I think its only a few classes I need to modify. Still, how would I override core classes them with a mod? Also using CCL looks like it would help reduce the number of classes I need to modify and improve comparability with other mods? I not sure how relevant it is to what I plan though.

I've been meaning to try colony manager. My friend I'm working on this with likes it. Sounds like you can do everything we were planning with bills with it though.

Fluffy (l2032)