Growing season

Started by arl85, December 15, 2015, 10:33:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

arl85

Hi guys, I'm quite new to the game, but after playing a game with Phoebe on temperate climate, I'd like to start a game in a biome with limited growing season.
I started in a temperate forest (again) but with a Feb-Nov growing season.

Now, I don't fully understand how growing seasons works: I'm at 9th day of november and still I can grow vegetables ("growing season here now"). at 10th of november I see a "not growing - cold season" or something similar.

On wiki I read:
Quote from: wikiPlants will not grow when the temperature falls below 0C/32F or rises above 59C/138F. The plant's info window will show 'Out of ideal temperature range (not growing)'.

but this is not the message I'm receiving.
not 100% sure (not at home now) but after some days I can grow plants again, even in december ("growing season here now").

is it a bug?
How does growing season work?
is it a period when I cannot grow anything even if temperature is in growable range? Or is the temperature the main factor for growing plants?

Innese

Growing seasons are a rough approximation of when the temperatures will be optimal for growing; each plant has a temperature range in which it grows best, a bit of space on either end where it will grow slowly, and then finally a point on either end of the temperature spectrum where the crops will simply die.

So yes, temperature is the main factor in growing plants, which is why in some of the colder regions it can be necessary to build large freezers or greenhouses as the outdoor growing season may only last 2-3 months.

Shurp