Loading Up the Armory

Started by Kyle23011, February 13, 2014, 10:42:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyle23011

So , I'm relatively new to RimWorld so this may seem like a stupid question but , Should i leave my Colonists equipped with the rifles all the time? Or should i leave all my weapons in a equipment room? Sure if they have it equipped all the time they're always ready. But Its extremely annoying when a Wild Boomrat or Muffalo kills one on my colonist and I have a Valuable M-24 just laying out there. What do you recommend?

palandus

For the time being I'd suggest having a stockpile that can store weapons and have weapons on the colonists at all times. In the future they may be able to use equipment instead of weapons, but for now, carry a weapon on them at all times. An M24, isn't very effective against boomrats as you will get at most 1 shot off (maybe 2) before it gets to melee range.

OobleckTheGreen

My colonists are always armed. One thing you can do to mitigate damage from boomrats (and raiders, for that matter) is to have an double outer wall leading to your settlement that serves as a long straight corridor. Make it the only way into the settlement. You can improve it by having your colonists drop a block of debris at the corridor entrance to slow down travel coming in and out of the corridor. At the settlement-side of the corridor, put down enough sandbags for your colonists to hide behind. You should now have a long shooting range.

Any animal that goes crazy will automatically choose the corridor as the easiest path into the settlement. As soon as you get the message that an animal has gone nuts, place 2-3 shooters behind your sandbags and wait for the creature to enter the corridor. Creatures never get much past halfway down the corridor before they're shot to pieces.

Here's an example:

palandus

An interesting corridor idea; I like it!

Nasikabatrachus