xChatMC-style mod - websocket woes

Started by bluevulpine, June 24, 2016, 12:14:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluevulpine

(Apologies if this double-posts; it logged me out in the middle of writing it, then said I've already posted it, but I didn't see it appear...)

Hi all. I've spent a couple days trying to get past this brick wall, and decided it was high time to consult the experts.

This is my first foray into modding for any game; my day job is a software engineer, although I'm usually wading through 20-year-old C code that was directly ported from 30-year-old COBOL code. I don't have a great deal of C# experience and zero Unity experience, but I'm learning very painfully as I go. :)

My end goal is to have something like xChatMC, where a streamer's viewer-chat will appear in game so he or she doesn't have to check another screen to respond to viewers. As there's no actual chat mechanism in RimWorld, the intention was to make this a read-only affair. This is what it looks like so far:

I borrowed very heavily from the Verse Messages class in order to create the UI and message handling queue (there's still some oddities though, background fill overlaps itself if I shrink the rect to a smaller height than what's in the screenshot), and dug through an ILSpy output from EdB's colonist bar to grok how to get a UI-only mod to even load in the first place. I am now able to fire test messages onto the screen all day and have them expire gracefully. I figured getting this stuff on screen would be the harder part. I have been proven somewhat wrong.