[1.0] Apex: Rimworld Legends - Vanilla weapons expansion

Started by OskarPotocki, March 21, 2019, 09:49:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

OskarPotocki

1.1.0 (21/03/2019): New weapon: Grenade Launcher. Added movement penalty when equipped with Mechanoid Sniper rifle and Mechanoid Rocket Launcher.
1.0.0 (20/03/2019): Release

I'm a graphic designer and an amateur programmer which roughly translates to a perfect modding material, however I never had the strength and patience to actually sit down and learn how to mod my favourite game - Rimworld. I was always worried of a new update totally destroying my hard work with new game mechanics, however since 1.0 got released, the update possibility dropped substantially. This was the right time to create my first ever Rimworld mod, so go easy on me. I always found the vanilla game to be lacking in variety. Don't get me wrong, it has everything it needs to be a very fun game, however it could use some new animals, weapons, technologies etc. With a release of Apex: Legends, an idea came to my mind - why not put both of these games together in a form of a mod?

Apex: Rimworld Legends is a vanilla-friendly weapon expansion adding over 20 new weapons to the game, all based on Apex: Legends weapons, but renamed into more general weapon types. VK-47 Flatline became a Bullpup Rifle, Wingman became a Hand Cannon and Mozambique is still useless. The graphics, sounds and statistics of these weapons are meant to represent unmodded Rimworld, with no weapon being overpowered or "Out of character". Charge weapons have been expanded allowing for extra variety in combat, no longer forcing players to use a Charge rifle in late game. A new tier of late game weaponry has been added called "Mechanoid Weapons", which becomes craftable after researching Johnson-Tanaka drive - One of the last available technologies before leaving the planet.