Maintaining MODs with Core Updates

Started by Mudder, August 21, 2016, 08:06:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mudder

As I've been spending an overwhelming amount of time with this game lately I have begun to change mods and generally find some lacking for what I want.

This is ultimately the start of me creating my own. Though I have an aversion to working on mods when the core game is constantly breaking them...

That said, with the release of each core update are there notes on what needs to change in the mods in order to be compatible?
I'm a freelance programmer/web developer that spends way too much time here rather than making money.

CallMeDio

Hello, idk about the notes, but you will probably notice what changed very easily when you open visual studio and see the red outlined parts of the code when you reference the new game assembly dll in your mod project.
Updates aren't that frequent and depending on what you do you may not even need to change. If you want to go for it, don't stop because of that ;) , Rimworld mods are a excellent way to learn coding, what is very cool as C# is a very good language to do applications with.
QuoteYou may need a rubber duck.  Also, try some caveman debugging.

Released mods: No Mood Loss on Prisoner Sold or Died

RawCode

Implement abstraction layer for your code.

It won't magically solve issues, but, you will need to change only one type (and in case of really good implementation, one text file) to fix issues, and multiple abstraction layers can be packed into mod, allowing it to run on otherwise incompatible versions without any modifications.

Don't forget that Tynan has a changelog when a new release is out so you can always reference that too.
(2*b)||!(2*b) - That is the question.
There are 10 kinds of people in this world - those that understand binary and those that don't.

Powered By

Mudder

Quote from: RawCode on August 22, 2016, 03:13:36 AM