Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • December 15, 2019, 09:53:59 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches  (Read 10181 times)

SteelRev

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2016, 09:24:25 PM »

could you make this switch a seperate object? many mods already modify the default switch. it may cause even more incompatabilities.
It already is a separate object.
Logged

Dingo

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 513
  • Mod Author
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2016, 05:31:15 PM »

You should add a non-timer-based on/off functionality toggle so the switch can be easily turned on or off and save its time-of-day settings.

merthsoft

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2016, 06:42:57 PM »

Like how normal switches have? That'd make sense! Good suggestion
Logged

Dingo

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 513
  • Mod Author
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2016, 07:11:39 PM »

Yeah. Let's say you want to save power because there's an eclipse or something, you should be able to turn it off without hindering its functionality when you turn it on again.

merthsoft

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2016, 07:25:24 PM »

Alright! Added this feature:

http://merthsoft.com/TimerSwitches_4.zip
Logged

Dingo

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 513
  • Mod Author
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2016, 07:48:09 PM »

Windows Defender seems to be recognising this one as a virus (didn't do it for any of the other ones).

merthsoft

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2016, 07:57:03 PM »

That's very weird... I didn't do anything different. Does it say what specifically it doesn't like about it?
Logged

Dingo

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 513
  • Mod Author
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2016, 08:17:05 PM »

Nope, just deletes it and says it needs to submit files for analysis. I unpacked it after disabling realtime protection and the actual folder doesn't trigger anything. I don't even know if it's anything more than usual antivirus stupidity (I only use Defender because I can't be bothered uninstalling a base Windows feature, haven't used an AV before Windows 10).

mugenzebra

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2016, 02:16:45 PM »

Is it possible to modify light to have time-of-day functionality?
Logged

Thyme

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 498
  • Physickist
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Time-of-Day Switches
« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2016, 12:32:51 PM »

Did you ever bother about short circuits that unload all your stored energy in an electrical explosion? Was manually hauling batteries to have backup power too tedious? Time-of-Day Switches is your way to go!

During my first colony I had several electrical explosions in a short amount of time. So I started to haul batteries away to keep them charged as power backup and to keep my stored power small. Ugh, I hate micromanagment. Now I make 3 power banks, each of them connected with the main grid via one of those nice little switches. The switches are active 2/3 of the time (2h active - 1h inactive - repeat) to cut the exposed power by 1/3. Not sure of 1/3 would work too, could be that it causes power shortages when the switches flick. Will increase to 4 power banks with 2/4 setting when the colony grows.

Another usage I thought of: Connect a sun lamp with the switch to avoid micro-managing solar panels. (Solar panel: 1700W, Sun lamp: 1600W) Connecting 1:1 would work, but what are you going to do in a volcanic winter?
Logged
I'm from Austria. If I offend you, it's usually inadvertently.
Snowmen army, Chemfuel Generator, Electric Stonecutting, Smelting Tweak
Pages: 1 [2]