Disaster at Grizzly Pass

Started by Kryo, November 15, 2016, 01:36:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kryo

My first game of Rimworld was a bit of a rollercoaster. Now I've had plenty of experience with this genre of games (namely DF and Banished), but none of that could have prepared me for Rimworld. This is uncharted territory. Now I'm going to tell the story of my first playthrough, mainly because this game has greatly inspired me to share it. Some details may be lost, since this happened a few days ago, and the specific seasons that the events occured may be switched. What I do know is that I survived for roughly 2 years.

And here we go. I began by choosing 3 colonists: Andy the Engineer, Anna the Doctor, and Brown the Gardener. I noticed that Andy and Brown were coincidentally brothers. It's the little details like this that make the game interesting for me. The more depth the better. I started on Cassandra, casual, and chose temperate plains to start things off easy, but I knew by experience that it would end up to be anything but easy.

Our three brave settlers landed and I instantly built a main hall, a rice field, and sandbags. Tutorial basics. Once I got that out of the way I started to familiarize myself with the rest of the features.
I armed Andy with the rifle and Brown with the pistol.(Anna was a pacifist) I sent Andy off to hunt while Brown and Anna tended to the field.
I very soon noticed the large amount of bears roaming around the map. I had no udea how the AI worked in this game so I played it safe by hunting as far away from them as possible. It was only natural that when Brown asked what we were to name our new budding colony, I chose Grizzly Pass. The bears, plus the western vibe that I was getting from the music, just made the name seem to stick.