WIP: Cloning Chamber - Ideas needed

Started by Skcuske_Lobuk, April 17, 2017, 04:21:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skcuske_Lobuk

Hi, just started messing around with RW and made a basic colonist cloning prototype. Currently it just replicates a colonist 1:1 with no effort or costs. I want to change that.

1. Is it a good idea to be able to collect DNA samples? E.g. prisoners who refuse to be recruited being cloned? What kind of device would that be? Does it damages the donor?
2. What about the cloning quality? I'd like to have some variation in skills, and maybe gender, but it should be nicely integrated. Any ideas?
3. Should the cloning process be (semi-)automated? How long should cloning take?

As I'm fairly new to xml modding, I might need some help in that part. So what do you think?

dyl000

I think that you should be able to forcibly collect samples, but perhaps it make them unhappy or something, It shouldnt need to damage the donor since it would just be a DNA sample, there should be multiple types of Cloning
Perfect match- same traits, looks, stats, everything, takes the longest
Basic Genetic Copy- similar stats with slight variations in looks (same gender though) and sometimes possibly a change in traits maybe?
and for the final one Unstable Duplicate- high chance of having traits such as volitile, maybe add a new trait in called "Extremely unstable" that gives them a high chance of breaking, but they can be produced much much faster, like a clone a day per machine or something. For cloning time it could be something like
8 days, 5 days, 1 day in order from most stable to least? cloning could take biomass or something to balance things out, anything organic could be broken down and used to fuel it
Of course you dont have to use these, these are just random ideas, this mod could be a ton of fun to mess around with though, especially with a star wars mod, i could create a clone army of jedi, or just recreate the clone wars with the mechnoids......