RimWorld > General Discussion

Introduce yourself!

(1/168) > >>

Tynan:
It's good to have some idea of who you're talking to. So, if they wish, new members of the forum can post here to introduce themselves.

Say as much or as little as you like. But you could answer questions like:
-What introduced you to RimWorld? Or to this style of game in general?
-What's your favorite other game?
-Most embarrassing gaming-related story?
-What kind of breakfast cereal is the best?

And/or put up ridiculous pictures, as you see fit.

I shall start below!

Tynan:

Basics of me:

I started making paper games as a small child. At age 15 I started with digital game design by making levels for Unreal Tournament. Within a few years, I was doing contract level work for companies like Epic and Groove Games, and making non-Unreal indie games (which were all awful). In 2008 I graduated university and got a job as a designer at Irrational Games. I worked there on the BioShock PS3 DLC and on BioShock Infinite for four years. In February 2012, I left the company to return to Ottawa. Then I wrote a game design book called Designing Games and started working on game prototypes. The first four or five didn't work, until I tried a colony sim. That worked; that's what became RimWorld.

I created RimWorld :P As for this style of game, I played strategy games and management games since I was a little kid. It's always been there for me.

Deus Ex. Yep, still hasn't been matched in terms of world development and story.

Need to think of one!

I'm a frosted mini-wheats guy, usually. But I eat a ton of breakfast cereal (usually while coding, seeing as I work at home), so I have broad tastes in this department.

WolveNZ:

Well, Saw it while scrolling though on Indiedb, and thought to myself 'Hey, that looks cool!'
Ive always liked creating, planing and tactics (to a Point) that always made me stay away from the Hardcore games in each catagory, Interested on how Rimworld fits into it all!