In The Beginning (Starter Steps)

Started by BioFringe, June 01, 2017, 12:02:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BioFringe

Having only started playing towards the end of A16 I can safely say that I'm not an expert but rather just simply a player that found himself a very deep game to spend tons of hours on. What I discovered most about this game is that there's a lot to discover so of course that lead to constant restarts to better my next game with any new found knowledge that I uncovered along the way. It was only natural that I saw a pattern for the early game so I decided to write it down for my own benefit and share what I have in the event that it might help someone else. So here is what I do at the beginning of any new game...

First 11 Steps

• Prepare Carefully (Mod)
  • Land --> Equip Weapons --> Pause --> Save
  • Setup Manual Work Priorities
  • Setup Animals (Training & Master
  • Unforbid Starting Item
  • Plan. Plan. Plan. (I use the More Planning mod)
  • Establish Stockpiles
  • Establish DumpPiles
  • Establish Zone
  • Save --> Unpause --> Play
  • Have Fun!
Here's a couple of these steps expanded upon...

• Plan. Plan. Plan. (see my second post below for my overall general thoughts on this stage)
Farm (Rich Soil)

Corn
               Potatoes
               Rice
               Strawberries
               Healroot
               Cotton
               Haygrass
               Hops

Kitchen
          Cooler
          Butchery
          Dining Room
          Rec Room
          Barracks & Bedrooms
          Hospital
          Workshop
          Laboratory
          Power Field
          Prison Barracks & Cells
          Cemetery
          Barns
          Defenses

• Establish Stockpiles
Temporary
          Items
          Produce (Cold)
          Meat (Cold)
          Meds (Cold)
          Plants & Drugs (Cold)
          Meals (Cold)

• Establish DumpPiles
Steel & Granite
        Marble
        Sandstone
        Textiles
        Raw Resources