Tribals should need to acquire knowledge of technology

Started by rungus24, June 09, 2017, 03:45:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rungus24

I'm new to the game and I love it, especially the tribal start, but I don't like the way that neolithic people just decide to discover electricity and sit at a desk and do it in a few days. Instead, I wonder if storyline events could allow the colony to learn enough about the existence of a technology to then sit at the research desk and research it. For example, when traders and visitors come, they could choose to give, or sell, the knowledge of electricity, or machining, etc, to the colony, and then this allows the research to be done. Or if a colonist has, say, 10 in medicine, then the event can come up that he has discussed some ideas with the colony about how to produce drugs, allowing this to be researched properly. Perhaps prisoners and new recruits can give the secrets of research, allowing the research tree to be updated. Maybe some colonists just had secrets passed down from their ancestors that allow certain things to be researched. I'm not sure if it would help or hinder the game-play, but it would smooth out the idea of this stone age people just sitting at a desk and becoming modern people so quickly. Does anyone think this is an idea worth having a look at?

AngleWyrm

When I play Tribal start games, it's because I want a game without electricity and the things that come from that tech tree. So I don't research it, choosing instead to develop agriculture, medicine and animal husbandry. My favorite part of your thoughts on the subject is the notion of technological secrets handed down; maybe technological knowledge could be represented in a more portable manner sort of like skills, work categories and traits, so that they could be more specific to the pawns.