[Tutorial] [1.0] How to make a .dll-mod (Power Generation)

Started by Haplo, May 01, 2014, 03:42:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Haplo

How to make an .dll-mod

Description
This is a small demonstration about how you can make a mod that's using an assembly (.dll).
With this little project you learn about the assembly and it's program. Additionally you'll build your own small dark matter generator and an animated wind turbine. :)
Note, that this is Windows only, as I have no experience with Linux or Mac. Sorry..

Needed Tools
You need the following tools:
- Microsoft Visual Studio 2017 Community Edition (free, download here)
- A basic understanding of C#
- RimWorld

Download
Download the project from Git-Hub.

Preparations
Before you start the project, you need to make the following preparations:
-Extract the file to a folder of your choice
-Go into your RimWorld-Folder:
    - Copy ..\RimWorld000Win\RimWorld000Win_Data\Managed\Assembly-CSharp.dll
      to ..\YourProjectFolder\RimWorld_ExampleProjectDLL\Source-DLLs\
    - Copy ..\RimWorld000Win\RimWorld000Win_Data\Managed\UnityEngine.dll
      to ..\YourProjectFolder\RimWorld_ExampleProjectDLL\Source-DLLs\

Enter The Project
Now that you've prepared everything, it is time to enter the project and take a look into what makes the pump do, what it does and where the problem is..
So open the project by starting <YourExtractionFolder>\RimWorld_ExampleProjectDLL.sln
If everything is installed correctly, Visual Studio should startup, opening your project.
Everything else is described inside.
And once you're finished, you have created your very own dark matter generator and maybe an animated wind turbine.

With this in mind.. Have fun exploring the secrets of the RimWorld code.  8)
See you on the other side,
Haplo

Cala13er

Haplo

Yes I know, I've spoken with him.
My only problem is, that I have no experience with wikis, so the link there will take a while until I figured it out :)

Tynan