Temporarily disable certain reserach?

Started by Kerbalized, August 08, 2017, 10:01:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kerbalized

First off, I'm new to modding, so my apologies for dumb questions.
I'm playing around with making a scenario where your colonists can't escape until certain conditions are met.
As the title asks, is there a way to forbid ship building research temporarily?
My current plan is once the prerequisites are met, the game would drop pod in the necessary ingredients for the escape ship (with fewer parts in case you don't get enough in time- choose who escapes and who dies) and give you the research to place the blueprints. Does that make sense, or am I barking up the wrong tree?

SpaceDorf

I was thinking these days about a similiar research problem.

What you could do is make the research require a special building ( similiar to the multi-analyzer ) that is not researchable but gets dropped in by your story event .. that way the research is locked until the building is connected to a research table.
Maxim 1   : Pillage, then burn
Maxim 37 : There is no overkill. There is only open fire and reload.
Rule 34 of Rimworld :There is a mod for that.

Kerbalized

I just thought of another solution, but I'm not sure if it is tacky. 
What are your thoughts about changing the ingredients for the ship parts, but giving the research immediately?
It would be easy to implement, but I'm not sure if building the ship out of other stuff would be weird, like building it all out of jade (just an example)...

My other idea is to create a unique trade ship that only exchanges ship components for the desired resource.

Mainly, I realized that delaying research might screw up the scenario's end-game. I have a planet killer event at 300 days, but if you gained the ability to research at day 290, you might just be screwed waiting for it to finish.
That would just be frustratingly disappointing

SpaceDorf