Essentials Thread

Started by aerojet029, October 25, 2013, 09:03:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aerojet029

the point of this is a compilation of ideas that would in theory take the game in it's current state and solidify the core aspects of the game with as few additions as possible

I will try my best to edit this first post with everything contained in this thread that is agreed upon. I have a few suggestions of my own

ambient sounds and music
                      (this is actually something I have a lot of experience with)
           options: toggle on/off (separate from game sounds like gun firing, selections)
                        volume slider
           incorporates: can be scripted with day/night cycle or weather
                               examples   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XRkEDCNyUI
                                              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzN3yJXlWrg
                                              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0461rkWmdc
                                              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbZYQphn1ns
               i'm not sure how powerful the audio engine is, but maybe different ambient sound depending on the camera's frame of reference
               center of base would have different ambiance sounds than in the middle of the desert with smooth transitions
population economy
* already mentioned in other threads and something that just needs ironing out.
               maybe an addition of aging, natural death, and children? (maybe children could be left for later expansion)

endgame objectives
                 something to strive for
                         - permanently establishing a colony (for the good of the colony) vs escape (every colonist for themselves)
                                     each of these could have interesting game play styles and a game should be balanced so that a game can continue