[1.0] Beer brewing and alcohol expanded

Started by Reize81, March 20, 2019, 03:36:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Reize81

This is my very first mod that finally has reached a playable state  :). Please note that english is my second language. Please do also note that I am very new to modding and that I have no clue about incompatibilities.

What does this mod aim to do?

The goal of this mod is to make the production chain for beer more complicated and to change beer in a way that it is based on a starch containing plant suitable for brewing (corn, rice) and hops. Furthermore the mod introduces the production of empty bottles (by pottery) at the sculpting table and it introduces hard liquor, which is more potent than beer and more valuable.

What has been achieved?

There is a new workbench named "mash tub", which can convert sugar containing vegetables (corn, rice, potatoes and agave) into mash. Additionally the mash tub can be used to make wort out of corn/hops or rice/hops. The brewery can no longer be used to make wort and has a different purpose now.
Mash can be distilled to pure alcohol in the biofuel refinery. Pure alcohol is as unstable as chemfuel so don't store it above power conduits or you might blow your base up.
Wort still is stored in fermenting barrels but the barrels no longer yield ready-to-drink bottled beer but fermented beer which has to be further processed before it can be consumed (with delight).
The sculpting table can be used to make stoneware bottles "stein" out of stoneblocks by a sort of pottery style attempt. Since there is no glass in Rimworld this seemed to be the next best thing (I am not 100 % happy with this one).
Pure alcohol and fermented beer can be processed into bottles at the brewery. Here all the necessary steps like filtration, dillution, carbonizing, bottling, sealing and labeling are done.