Personal curiosity on the map size

Started by PhantomFav, November 12, 2017, 02:46:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PhantomFav

What is the map size you usually play on Rimworld?

The last time I bought a new hardware for my computer was 2010, it has 2RAMGB, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo 2.40GHz, 64bit, AMD Radeon HD 5450.
I usually play on the 250x250 map. Can I play a smooth game on larger map?

I ask this because on 275x275 maps (or larger) appears the warning message for the performance.

Canute

I wouldn't suggest.
2GB RAM and the pretty slow CPU are the bottleneck.
Any new cheap PC from a discount seller/market got a much better performance.

anotherrimworld

I'd say that I have the best possible computer to play rimworld with but even then, eventually the lag makes the game unbearable to play. Because of this, I started playing on the smallest map size. I find this is the best solution possible along with the declutter mod because if the map ever becomes too small you can just start a second colony. I'd actually prefer it if development ended on rimworld so that rimworldx64 multiplayer could begin

lauri7x3

because of rimworld not using multithreading i recommend using the the small maps. the lag is ur biggest enemy in this game

CannibarRechter

> I'd actually prefer it if development ended on rimworld so that rimworldx64 multiplayer could begin

I'm not actually sure why that wouldn't just be a recompile release. Some Unity limitation? It's not gonna be a C# limitation.

Anyway, usually when my maps slow down I have plenty of RAM left (allocated to RW). The real restriction in this game is threading, AFAICT.

Well, technically, I'd say what's holding it back fundamentally for performance is neither of the above. It's the ticking architecture. But that's no easy re-do.
CR All Mods and Tools Download Link
CR Total Texture Overhaul : Gives RimWorld a Natural Feel
CR Moddable: make RimWorld more moddable.
CR CompFX: display dynamic effects over RimWorld objects