[W | 0.12.911] No native plants growing in the middle of the map.

Started by Mihsan, August 29, 2015, 02:40:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mihsan

Not sure if this bug or not. This looks weird and gamebreaking, so I will report this anyway.

1. What the circumstances were.
I have played on large map in shrubland region. At year 3 I noticed that pretty large area on my map does not have any plants on it (no trees and no grass). It was not like this when I started playing. Not sure, what caused this, but possible it became like this after few poison ships (they was
lying there for a few months), toxic fallout event and volcanic winter. No animals was there to eat those plants. Right now it is year 6 and there are still no plants in that area.

2. What happened.
No native plants spawning on large area in the middle of the map.

3. What you expected to happen.
Native plants and trees spawning and growing all over the map.

4. How we can reproduce the bug.
Spawn a few toxic ships, add toxic fallout and volcanic winter, then wait. Killing all plants on map with debug menu gives almost the same result.

Pain, agony and mechanoids.

Vault101

It's by design. Plants "move" from the edges of the map towards the middle. It's supposed to mimic the natural spread of life. But it makes sense only for large areas in real life. In game you inhabit a very small area of land, it shouldn't take so much time for plants to "come" to middle of the map, they should regrow everywhere simultaneously on such a small area.

And it really sucks as far as pastures are concerned because you don't want your animals hanging out around the edge of the map because they'll get instantly killed by raiders. Also in nature animals don't cause degradation of flora because their waste encourages growth of new plants.

It's not a bug but it should be reworked in my opinion.

Songleaves