Tips for wealth management?

Started by cyberian, December 13, 2017, 04:44:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cyberian

Hello everyone,

I am into my second game ever with RimWorld.
I am using Medieval Times and Hospitality mods plus a few lesser impact QoL ones and I play on Randy Rough only because I am quite new to the game. One rule I made is no killboxes and my peoples are armed with Longbows and plate armor (MT items). I think I have 10 or 12 pawns now and the fort has been going well but that seems to have lead to much bigger raid sizes. Lately I get 25-30 peoples for the medieval factions the pirates with guns are thankfully lower size. I guess I am pumping out too many good high wealth items. I have lately started breeding Muffalos to help with my defense so I don't get completely overwhelmed and I started disassembling all the armor and weapons that I don't need on my pawns into steel again. I also found a Plasteel reserve that I don't mine out because I can't use it for anything good anyway.

So that what are the worst offenders for wealth in your experience?
Do walls and floors actually increase wealth? I have an all Slate castle with mostly marble floors and a few silver and sterile floors.
I have many stone deadfall traps scattered at all attack directions do they increase wealth much?
Would it help to go with lower quality furniture and maybe give some happiness with drugs to compensate?
Related to that does anyone know if tolerance reduction http://rimworldwiki.com/wiki/Drugs#Addiction_and_Tolerance applies for each drug seperately?
Because then I would go with Psychoid Peko every second day, one beer every four days and one wakeup every four days that should work for one dose of happy every day. So does it clean the tolerance from pekoe on the same day as it reduces the beer or does only one drug get out of the system each day?
Does my Muffalo Herd actually also hurt my wealth substantially?