Furry Fortress in RimWorld

Started by AcetheSuperVillain, March 17, 2018, 11:16:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AcetheSuperVillain

Hello.  I am fairly new to RimWorld, but a long time player of Dwarf Fortress, and I'm wondering if I could remake my DF mod Furry Fortress for RimWorld.  If you want to read the DF topics, here is FuFo2 and FuFo3, but basically the idea was to replace the fantasy tropes like elves and dwarves with ancient culture themed animal-people.  The main three were Samurai Foxes, English Knight Rabbits and Ancient Egyptian Goannas, plus big huge lists of other possibilities that have shifted over time. 

Before I dive into the RimWorld modding scene, I want to quickly ask if what I want to do can be done in RimWorld, since a lot of my ideas for Dwarf Fortress were not possible within its modding structure.  I've programmed games for years, so I'm comfortable enough with programming.  (I've never actually used XML, but it looks simple enough) 

So here are a few things I would like to be able to do: 

- DF-style Civilizations - The idea that a particular political entity is inhabited by one particular race, and they have a particular style of clothing, weapons, crops and booze.  For example, the civilization of Samurai Foxes all wear kimonos, wield katanas, grow rice and drink sake, while the Egyptian Goannas wear shendyts and khopeshes and grow barley and drink bread beer (or blood wine, as carnivores).  Ideally, you would be able to play as one of these civilizations and be restricted to a particular set of clothing and weapons.  (actually, in the later DF FuFo versions, carnivore civs could gather plants but not grow them, though immigrants from other civs could do it.  In RimWorld, I could see a carnivore civ needing to research growing technology first.)  (That said, I do like the idea of pluralistic societies as well, and I'm sure some players will have a gotta catch 'em all attitude)