Question about code execution within the modding framework of this game

Started by Bert Zangle, June 19, 2018, 09:45:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bert Zangle

Hey everyone

Sort of new Rimworld player here, but already compeletely hooked to the game. I recently started poking around in the modding sections, both on Steam, and on the forums here. Seriously, this game has one of the best modding community I've ever encountered. I'm in awe.

Now, for my question... It's a really basic, sort of high-level question about the viability of an idea I have for a new mod.

(Disclaimer: I'm a somewhat competent programmer, but have very little modding experience.)

What are the limitations of executing external code called from within a mod?

To be more concrete: Ideally, I would like my mod to call some (cheap) TensorFlow function, then use the result in-game. Alternatively, the mod could execute some Python script using numpy methods. But I strongly suspect that's not possible, right?

On the other hand, I saw that the modding tutorial mention C# code. Maybe related: I also read about Harmony, which by my (currently very limited) understanding allows runtime execution of code by a mod. So maybe it is possible after all?

Alright, that was very longwinded... Here's the tl;dr:

I want to prototype my idea for a (dialogue) mod. Minimally, I need to execute code which runs a forward pass of a neural network, ideally using an efficient ML/LA library implementation.

My question: Can this be done in the modding environment of this game, or do I have to come up with ideas that don't require additional code execution?

neitsa

Quote from: Bert Zangle on June 19, 2018, 09:45:59 AM
On the other hand, I saw that the modding tutorial mention C# code.

Yep, RimWorld is using Unity3D which itself runs on Mono, so everything is C#.