Issues that I found when I played RimWorld

Started by _Rainbow, December 01, 2018, 06:41:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

_Rainbow

Hi guys. So I wrote this text document a short time ago and I forgot to upload it. It contains suggestions of my personal view of Rimworld, suggestions to improve the game and fix general annoying things. Feel free to read or whatever.

//- Introduction.
I am a game developer myself and I also use Unity3D to make my games. I am interested in seeing Rimworld become a really cool and awesome game since I really enjoy playing it.
I have carried out an analysis on version 1.0 of the game and I would like to bring the following points to your attention.
Some of these tips are related to micromanagement and general difficulty playing the game and also some entries which break immersion.
Note: These are suggestions and tips based on my personal observation of the game, so apologies in advance if I am too 'abrasive'.
   Also this list is not entirely complete, however I will not be writing another observation again if majority of the immersion issues are fixed. (unless you want me to? Idk bye)

Organized (sort of) by category:

//- Micromanagement issues
-- When new pawns are fleeing from a colony, they are forced to join the colony, rather than being a refugee. This makes it harder to micromanage your colony.
-- There are no ways to 'banish' an undesirable colonist without the other colonists feeling bad from that colonist dying; they seem linked even through the world map.
   - They should not have to be arrested to be banished, rather sent on a dead-end mission on the world map seems sufficient enough.
   - Even if these new pawns have not met the pawns in your base (or acquaintance) the other pawns still care if they die. (even if they barely knew them or never met them!)
-- Similarly, colonists don't care when a colonist is missing for too long.