Learning to make a mod. Trying to make a flaming sword. Need a little help

Started by KuRRi, January 04, 2019, 09:27:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KuRRi

Hi! I'm very new to modding for Rimworld and modding in general. My programming skill is somewhere between beginer and immediate (C# and HTML/CSS).

I'm trying to make a flaming sword that set the opponent on fire when attacking (as the title have suggest). After reading some tutorial I was able to create a sword that apply burn to people when hit (create a new toolcapacityDef and ManueverDef). That not entirely what i wanted. So I go back to done some more research, which help me founded the DamageDef "Flame". Unfotunately it's an enviromental damage, not meleeweapon damage, so it didn't work.

To this point I've just using XML, no C# script yet. So my question is: how do i apply the "Flame" to my attack? And is it possible to do it by just using XML ?

John Midnight

I used flame in a shotgun, and works (https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1602796764). It sets on fire pawns and give burn damage. It doesn´t set on fire plants or structures.

KuRRi

Might if you share me how to do it ? And btw i can easily find the method that detect when a projectile hit something thank to jecrell tutorial, but the codes for melee attack (couldn't find individual weapon ) are entirely different, which till out I still haven't firgue it out yet. And there is no legitimate source for melee weapon, strangely enough.

John Midnight

This is the bullet definition (weapon definition is vanilla):
  <ThingDef ParentName="BaseBullet">
    <defName>MAC_Bullet_Incendiary_Shotgun</defName>
    <label>shotgun fire</label>
    <graphicData>
      <texPath>Things/Projectile/Bullet_Shotgun</texPath>
      <graphicClass>Graphic_Single</graphicClass>
    </graphicData>
    <projectile>
      <damageDef>Flame</damageDef>
      <damageAmountBase>8</damageAmountBase>
      <stoppingPower>2</stoppingPower>