Modding the ResourceReadout (UI at the left side of the screen)

Started by obuw, February 18, 2019, 07:56:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

obuw

Hello all,

I'd like to make a mod that modifies or replaces the resource list that shows all your resources at the left side of the screen.

Basically I'd like to have a UI like a stockpile where you select which resources you'd like to display, and then it would only display those resources in the list and hide the rest.

I'm somewhat familiar with the basics of rimworld modding, I've made and tinkered with some xml mods in the past. But I've never done a UI mod before. So I'd really appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction.

For starters, what exactly is the UI element called? (Edit: it's called ResourceReadout). Can I access any of its code or settings from, say, the core mod? Are there any relevant tutorials dealing with this kind of UI work that might be of use? Or perhaps any mods that do something similar that I could take a look at? I've been searching around but coming up empty so far.

Many thanks!

Mehni

ResourceReadout

Yes, you can use pretty much all code from RimWorld.

https://rimworldwiki.com/wiki/Modding_Tutorials/ModSettings

The modding tutorials on the wiki are good. Read them all.

As far as the approach goes, I'd use Harmony's methodreplacer to swap out the constructor. It wouldn't be *very* compatible, but "imma overhaul the entire resource list" wasn't going to be very compatible from the start.

Make your code performant. Stuff that runs on the UI like that is going to need it.

obuw

Thanks for the reply.

Um, not sure why you thought ModSettings would be relevant? Oh maybe you thought I want the user to select resources from a mod settings page? Naw it will be an ingame menu.