List all Animals on current map

Started by shkal, February 24, 2019, 02:39:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shkal

Hey guys,

I started to dig into rimworld modding just today, so I am a complete noob on this topic. As of now, I managed to extend the GUI to add custom Buttons/Windows. So far so good.

But for the last couple of hours I struggled with iterating over all animals on the current map (in order to add them to a custom GUI). I spent some time looking through the AnimalTab and the BetterPawnControl Mods but I can't seem to get the hang of it.

My current understanding is that I somehow should use
Find.CurrentMap.mapPawns.AllPawns
but I don't understand how I can differentiate between Humans (Colonists, Prisoners) from the Animals.

I would be happy if you guys could advise me on how to loop over all (tamed) animals on the current map. A short piece of code would be appreciated but is not crucial, I guess.

Thanks,
Mario

Mehni

Hello Mario, welcome. Did you look at the mod AnimalTab, or did you look at the vanilla Animal or Wildlife Tab? The vanilla versions should be clear: Take a look at

// MainTabWindow_Wildlife
// MainTabWindow_Animals

and I suggest you get a decent decompiler for those. The latest version of ILSpy is very good. dnSpy is popular too. More here: https://rimworldwiki.com/wiki/Modding_Tutorials/Decompiling_source_code

shkal

Hey Mehni,

thanks for the quick response and the warm welcoming.
I forgot to mention that I set up my developing environment on my company laptop and security guidelines (-symantec) won't allow me to use the decompiler.

Nonetheless, I spent some more time looking through some mod sources on github.

So for anyone who is struggling with the same thing (and finds this through google or forum search) - my current approach looks like this:

MapPawns Pawns = Find.CurrentMap.mapPawns;
            int Counter = 0;

foreach(Pawn p in Pawns.PawnsInFaction(Faction.OfPlayer))
            {
                Counter++;