[c#] How to determine if the building is used or not?

Started by Red192, September 19, 2019, 08:00:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Red192

I'm new to modding and to c# and i find my self quite overwhelmed. I think it is a simple problem in reality but i wasn't able to figure it out and i'm quite ashamed from it, please be merciful, i'm new.

I tried a bit but i can't find how to define if the building is currently used for bill production or not. Can someone please help me?

EbonJaeger

If you mean if a pawn is currently working at it, you can use this:
building.Map.reservationManager.IsReservedByAnyoneOf(building, building.Faction)
Where `building` is an object of type Building.

Red192

EbonJaeger

Red192

To be totaly honest, it would better if there is a way to determine exactly when a building is used, and not just reserved. It kind of get lit all alone like is haunted or something.

but for the time being i will fine with it

LWM

You could always check the location of the pawn who has reserved it, and compare their Position to the position of the cell-you-use-to-access-the-building (whatever it's called)?  You wouldn't be 100% accurate, because they might be moving, or picking up items, putting down finished products, etc, but that might be closer.

LWM

If it's a building you can control in C#(*), you could always tie whatever it is you want to do if it's being used to the "UsedThisTick()" function.

(*) - i.e., a derived class from Building_Worktable, or, if you are feeling brave, a Harmony PostFix() for Building_WorkTable.cs's UsedThisTick().

LWM

Red192

If I recal it correctly (i'm on my phone rigjt now) usedThisTick () require that the building is flickable and mine isn't  :-\

LWM

As long as your building is a Building_Workbench, then UsedThisTick() works - it's called by way of the "DoRecipeWork" toil, and it doesn't test anything beyond "is this pawn doing a recipe here?" and "does UsedThisTick() exist?"

--LWM

Red192