How to properly override ThingComp?

Started by Jaitnium, September 30, 2019, 10:11:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaitnium

I'm new to modding and C#, so I've been reading a bunch of tutorials. I also successfully followed the Plague Gun mod tutorial:
https://rimworldwiki.com/wiki/Plague_Gun/Introduction

The big issue that is stumping me is that my class that is derived from ThingComp doesn't work at all. I've created a sample mod that uses the exact code listed on the wiki (except I added tickerType to the xml), added the mod to the game, but CompTick doesn't seem to execute at all: https://rimworldwiki.com/wiki/Modding_Tutorials/ThingComp

How can I properly override ThingComp so CompTick will execute?

TickerMod.xml:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Defs>
<ThingDef>
<tickerType>Normal</tickerType>
        <comps>
            <li Class="MyExampleNamespace.MyExampleCompProperties">
                <myExampleBool>false</myExampleBool>
                <myExampleFloat>0.005</myExampleFloat>
            </li>
        </comps>
    </ThingDef>
</Defs>

MyExampleNamespace.cs:
using Verse;
using System;

namespace MyExampleNamespace
{
    public class MyExampleComp : ThingComp
    {
        public override void CompTick()
        {
            Log.Error("Let's error on every tick!");
        }

/// <summary>
        /// By default props returns the base CompProperties class.
        /// You can get props and cast it everywhere you use it,
        /// or you create a Getter like this, which casts once and returns it.
        /// Careful of case sensitivity!
        /// </summary>
        public MyExampleCompProperties Props => (MyExampleCompProperties)this.props;

public bool ExampleBool => Props.myExampleBool;
    }

public class MyExampleCompProperties : CompProperties
    {
        public bool myExampleBool;
        public float myExampleFloat;

/// <summary>
        /// These constructors aren't strictly required if the compClass is set in the XML.