Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • November 12, 2019, 11:31:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Rimworld Will not Launch properly  (Read 716 times)

Burgerguys

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« on: October 16, 2019, 09:49:36 PM »

Rimworld continually will not launch properly and ends up showing this screen. I am on a computer that meets all system requirements and this is my first time attempting to launch on this machine.

« Last Edit: October 16, 2019, 09:59:23 PM by Burgerguys »
Logged

InterstellarOrbit

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Toruk Makto
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2019, 10:53:39 PM »

Thank you for uploading your output.

Have you tried the usual? Reinstalling and such?
Logged

Burgerguys

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2019, 11:23:32 PM »

yeah I've reinstalled and ended up with the same result.
Logged

Canute

  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 7775
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2019, 02:43:47 AM »

The rimworld installation looks fine.
But there is some trouble for Rimworld to find the right video card.
It try to use your onboard Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 while you got for directx aticfx64.dll which indicate an AMD card.

Logged

Burgerguys

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2019, 08:40:31 PM »

Yeah the laptop has 2 video cards, the Intel and an AMD Radeon HD 8790M. I bought the laptop this was and am no the most tech savvy. are you saying that the game is struggling to find the right graphics card? how can I fix this?
Logged

Canute

  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 7775
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2019, 04:57:29 AM »

I never got a mashine with 2 card's lately, so my expierence are low.
If you don't use the intel one at all, maybe try to deactivate it at the BIOS.
When you can't find such entry at the BIOS maybe read this link
How to Choose Which GPU a Game
Ofcouse you can go straight for the window's solution, whatever works.
Logged

Tynan

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 11824
    • View Profile
    • Tynan's Blog
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2019, 02:21:53 PM »

This is the important part of the log.

Quote
========== OUTPUTING STACK TRACE ==================

0x000007FED2EDD715 (atiumd64) OpenAdapter
0x000007FED527FD0C (atiu9p64) XopOpenAdapters9
0x000007FEF893838A (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF893DEA6 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF893E013 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF893EC47 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF892F7DB (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF892EE72 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF894FFD2 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF894EE27 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF894F532 (aticfx64) AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo
0x000007FEF8918947 (aticfx64) OpenAdapter
0x000007FEEA44BDC9 (d3d9) Direct3DCreate9
0x000007FEEA4108B4 (d3d9) Direct3DCreate9Ex
0x000007FEEA43449C (d3d9) Direct3DShaderValidatorCreate9
0x000007FEEA4343E1 (d3d9) Direct3DShaderValidatorCreate9
0x000007FEB2A9C932 (gameoverlayrenderer64) OverlayHookD3D3
  ERROR: SymGetSymFromAddr64, GetLastError: 'Attempt to access invalid address.' (Address: 0000000140260506)
0x0000000140260506 (RimWorldWin64)
  ERROR: SymGetSymFromAddr64, GetLastError: 'Attempt to access invalid address.' (Address: 00000001402C9857)
0x00000001402C9857 (RimWorldWin64)
  ERROR: SymGetSymFromAddr64, GetLastError: 'Attempt to access invalid address.' (Address: 00000001402CDDCF)
0x00000001402CDDCF (RimWorldWin64)
  ERROR: SymGetSymFromAddr64, GetLastError: 'Attempt to access invalid address.' (Address: 00000001402B422A)
0x00000001402B422A (RimWorldWin64)
  ERROR: SymGetSymFromAddr64, GetLastError: 'Attempt to access invalid address.' (Address: 000000014066335C)
0x000000014066335C (RimWorldWin64)
0x0000000077AA556D (kernel32) BaseThreadInitThunk
0x0000000077C0385D (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart

========== END OF STACKTRACE ===========

**** Crash! ****

Are you using something called 'game overlay renderer'? What might that be? It might be crashing your game.

These calls also look a bit weird to me: "AmdQueryPowerXpressDeviceInfo".

What I can say is it looks like something in your graphics card setup, drivers, or added software is crashing the game. I recommend updating those graphics card drivers and removing other software that might be messing with the game. You could try running the EXE outside Steam as well to see if it works.
Logged
Tynan Sylvester - @TynanSylvester - Tynan's Blog

Chibiabos

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Future Kibble
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2019, 12:50:33 AM »

Logged
Proud supporter of Rimworld since α7 (October 2014)!

Tynan

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 11824
    • View Profile
    • Tynan's Blog
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2019, 05:09:04 PM »

Game Overlay Renderer is part of Steam.  https://www.processlibrary.com/en/directory/files/gameoverlayrenderer/428501/

I thought so, which is why I'd try running the EXE outside of Steam.
Logged
Tynan Sylvester - @TynanSylvester - Tynan's Blog

Kenganomega

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2019, 09:32:47 PM »

Hey I just attempted to download the game on my laptop after visiting the main website instead of seeing and I cannot get the game on my laptop and I've tried reinstalling it and send emails but I have no idea what to do. If possible I'd like a refund so I can by the game from Steam instead.

[email protected]
Logged

Tynan

  • Developer
  • Administrator
  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 11824
    • View Profile
    • Tynan's Blog
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2019, 12:09:07 AM »

Hey I just attempted to download the game on my laptop after visiting the main website instead of seeing and I cannot get the game on my laptop and I've tried reinstalling it and send emails but I have no idea what to do. If possible I'd like a refund so I can by the game from Steam instead.

[email protected]

You already have a Steam copy that comes with your DRM-free purchase. You can register it on your Steam account directly here:

rimworldgame.com/getmygame
Logged
Tynan Sylvester - @TynanSylvester - Tynan's Blog

Kenganomega

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Rimworld Will not Launch properly
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2019, 10:22:12 AM »

Can you help me access it or send me the page that will because I'm trying my best but I'm honestly very confused.
Logged