Absolute noobie modder needing help

Started by Pumble, November 23, 2019, 12:38:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pumble

Hey guys. I've never even attempted to make a mod for rimworld before, all my previous experience has been modding dwarf fortress. I was wondering if anyone could give me some beginner tips and where to start, and what I'll need.
Also, how hard would it be to create a custom health condition? I want to make like a vampire type of disease, something that makes colonists not age but need to eat people and stuff lol. How hard would it be to do that?

Nolan71

I started on the wiki here.
This is a great introduction mod to make.
From my very limited experience here are my tips:

Get a good editor for XML. I use Sublime.
I highly recommend getting a decompiler like dnSpy. Use this to read the game's c# files to get a better understanding of your options. I got confused quickly, take notes to make it less confusing.
Don't set the standards of your first mod too high. Aim for small things at a time and slowly expand on them: v0.1: a gun, v0.2: a gun that shoots fire, v0.3: a fire gun that explodes when it breaks.... I think you get the idea.

What you suggest doesn't sound overly difficult, although I personally do not have any experience modifying that portion of the game. From what I understand, you would need to research Harmony.

Hope that helps!

Kirby23590

There a lot of good XML editors... I use Notepadd++

If you're planning on making on a disease or a weapon. It's not a bad start by copying the Core's code.

Also check out the Help Subforum's sticky posts... While i offer a little help from the other guy. I hope this info helps you as well... :)

One "happy family" in the rims...
Custom font made by Marnador.

LWM

Quote from: Pumble on November 23, 2019, 12:38:57 AM